kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

September 12th, 2019

Lemon-Roasted Potatoes with Bay Leaves from Vegetable Harvest: Vegetables at the Center of the Plate

Excellent, although I do wonder about the serving size. Two pounds is about 900g, which Wells thinks will serve 8. Those would be very dainty servings. I usually count 400-500g to serve two, and did tonight.... read more >


recipe reviews (1314)
book reviews (58)
useful review votes (309)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

10 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 10Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Giuliano Hazan's Thirty Minute Pasta: 100 Quick and Easy Recipes

By Giuliano Hazan, Joseph De Leo
Stewart, Tabori & Chang - 2009

23rd November 2013

Fettucine with Gorgonzola : page 50

Pretty darn tasty for minimal effort. I made a half recipe using the end of a bit of Fourme D'Ambert, which is a "soft" blue for people who aren't big fans of blue cheese. (I admit I'm still learning to properly appreciate it.)

Actually I suspect this is a good introduction to blue cheese for someone who thinks they don't like it. You could even be sneaky and say it's a sharp cheese with cream, and not mention any colors. Or just make a lot for yourself if you do.

useful (0)  


5th September 2010

Fusilli with Sausage and Zucchini : page 150

Very tasty. I made a full recipe of the sauce with about 12oz of pasta. This served 3 very adequately. I used orechiette instead of fusilli.

The recipe took quite a bit longer than 30 minutes, in large part because I seeded the tomatoes. Also, I prepared all the veggies before starting to sauté the onions, so that I could make a salad while the sauce was cooking. If you can use whole tomatoes, you might be able to do everything in parallel has Hazan suggests and be done in 30 min.

I used the Homemade Sausage from this book (and now need to make some more, as this is something I think I want to keep in the freezer!).

useful (1)  


Very tasty pasta dish.

I made a half recipe, using Hazan's super Homemade Sausage, which is something I try to keep in the freezer now.

The pasta is lightly sauced as Italian pasta is usually served. It looked to little in the pan, but was perfect on the plate.

useful (0)  


25th August 2010

Homemade Sausage : page 161

Italian sausage is not something that's readily available in rural France. The Hazans (both Marcella and Giuliano) insist on sausage with no fennel. (I gather that in the US this is difficult to find.) Giuliano recommends making your own. After several people recommended this recipe, I tried it, making a full recipe and freezing half. I used my food processor to grind the pork. I just coarsely chopped the garlic and tossed it in with the pork while I was pulsing. The garlic didn't get much further on the road to finely chopped, but it didn't make much difference in the finished dish. The sausage was good; this might be something worth keeping some in the freezer.

useful (3)  


7th November 2014

Linguine with Shrimp and Porcini : page 99

Excellent, fast pasta. Interesting technique to enhance the mushroom flavor. The dried porcini/cêpes are soaked, then chopped and added to the sautéed onion along with the strained soaking liquid. Regular mushrooms are then added, followed by tomatoes, cream, and shrimp. Quite delicious.
I made a half recipe for two. Used frozen, defrosted cooked shrimp.

useful (0)  


9th October 2010

Spaghetti with Cauliflower and Pancetta : page 142

A half recipe made a very nice dinner for two followed by a big salad. I like the "shortcuts": cooking the cauliflower whole in the soon-to-be pasta water and putting the garlic/pancetta/pepper flakes in the skillet with the oil even before turning on the heat.

useful (1)  


11th July 2011

Spaghetti with Melon : page 73

I saw this recipe last week on Hazan's site and printed it to make soon since we have a cantaloup wanting to be used. This morning I saw it tried on another blog and it was convenient to have a quick meal today, so into the kitchen I went.

I made a half recipe for two, served with linguine rather than spaghetti. This is easy and quite fun. The sweet flavor is unexpected but works fine. Cantaloup is not overwhelmingly sweet, so this had not a dessert taste about it at all.

If you feel the need for protein, some scallops or shrimp might be good. Or maybe some crispy fried pancetta sprinkled on at the end.

Definitely a keeper.

useful (1)  


14th April 2011 (edited: 16th February 2012)

Spaghetti with Olives, Capers, and Anchovies : page 121

Simple, fast, and good, can't beat that. If you think you don't like anchovies, use four instead of six for a whole recipe. But don't skip trying the recipe. The anchovies melt into the oil and the flavor complements the garlic, capers, and parsley. I used all three for a half recipe and it was fine. (I was a bit nervous because I overdid the anchovies in an artichoke stuffing a few days ago and was afraid I'd be oversensitive to them. Not.)

useful (1)  


Very tasty.

Hazan says "The most time-consuming part is peeling and deveiing the shrimp." Hmm... peeling tomatoes is also pretty time-consuming in my book. I finessed the shrimp part by using frozen cooked ones. The dish was still good. Definitely a do-again recipe.

useful (0)  


26th March 2011

Tagliatelle with Peas : page 53

Really simple and good. I used frozen peas and imagine that fresh would be really outstanding. Served freshly grated parmesan at the table for some of the salt. Yum.

useful (0)