Easter/Passover
  • What is everyone making for the holidays?
  • O.M.G. friederike -- so cute and not a dessert! We'll have to post pictures.
  • Adorable!
  • We're pretty traditional for Easter dinner - baked ham, mashed potatoes, green beans, dinner rolls, pie ...

I'm looking at a new recipe for the ham and haven't chosen the pie yet. The next day is my oldest son's birthday so he gets to choose.
  • Turkey is the tradition in my family for Easter Sunday but I'd really like to make a brisket, which I've never done before. And I plan to make the Greek Easter bread from the Olive and the Caper.
  • we do ham too -- my mother's tried and true recipe (brown sugar, cloves and ginger ale for basting)
    I've done the Greek Easter Bread from Peter Reinhart's book--it's wonderful...we're also thinking about his bagels for Sunday morning...
  • I know that it's not yet Easter, but we had a few people over this weekend and will only have a very simple family brunch next week Sunday, so we had fun with food today. Unfortunately, the deviled egg chicks didn't work out at all - they fell over, the caps slid off or crushed into the cream.. in the end I just served them as egg halves. But that wasn't all. I dressed up my chocolate brownie as miniature garden, and our magnus opus: a Mondriaan Cake! And I couldn't resist posting these photos..
  • Outdoor photos...I'm so jealous! But it's wonderful to see spring somewhere in the world. It certainly doesn't feel like it where I am.
    Your cake looks fantastic, and the brownie garden, so pretty. It's too bad about the chicks but it sounds as though you had lovely spread regardless.
  • friederike, loved the photos you shared. I had pinned those deviled egg chicks in hopes of making some for our Easter sorry to hear they didn't work out for you. Since Mom is in the residential Hospice house not sure what we're doing for Easter dinner. We usually do ham. I did start some pickled eggs with beet juice today.