hipcook's Profile

Joined: November 14th, 2009


Latest review:

November 2nd, 2019

Sticky Asian Salmon from Sous Vide Supreme

I've been making an ersatz Asian-ish salmon for a long time, with a doctored Hoisin/vaguely teriyaki-ish glaze. This recipe doesn't have that level of sweetness in it, but my family reports that's a good... read more >


recipe reviews (239)
book reviews (2)
useful review votes (98)

hipcook's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Chesapeake Bay Cooking

By John Shields
Broadway - 1998

1st December 2010

Chesapeake Oyster Stew : page 117

A relatively simple and very rich recipe for oyster stew; it's our family "go-to" recipe. Feeds a crowd - I frequently find myself scaling it down. I need to remember to use a light hand with the cayenne pepper; its lingering heat becomes overpowering easily.

useful (0)  


1st January 2014

Fried Apples : page 201

Growing up, when my parents went out for the night, we'd often get Stouffer's escalloped apples as a dinner treat. This recipe doesn't have the same thick, syrupy sauce as the frozen one, but it does feed that same memory for me.

It's a more grownup recipe - there's no sugar added past the apples and cider, but if you pick sweet apples, that's plenty. I could have a lot of fun playing with the size of the apple slices; a thin slice might be "like a spiced apple sauce" as described; I used rather thick chunks of apple (one chunk to the bite) to a heartier effect.

useful (0)  


25th April 2010 (edited: 25th April 2010)

Juan Kelly's Crabmeat Tapas : page 54

A nice take on crab salad - mild and not too mayonnaise-y. The addition of diced hard-boiled eggs is interesting. The filling repurposes nicely - we served it as a dip with slices of baguette, and then again as a topping for a cheese omelet.

useful (0)  


14th November 2009

Maryland Panfried Chicken : page 131

The recipe I use for my "old family recipe" fried chicken. Shhhh... don't tell anyone! Although with some crowds, I up the garlic and hot sauce in the marinade, it's just about perfect - flavorful, with a serious, crispy crust. It looks darker than the Colonel's - you might even think it's overcooked - but don't worry, it's delicious. This is the recipe that taught me I like making fried chicken just as much as eating it.

useful (0)  


21st September 2014

Remoulade Sauce : page 37

Very nice remoulade sauce. The green onion and celery add a freshness which works well.

useful (0)  


1st January 2014

Roast Fresh Ham with Fried Apples : page 161

I think of thyme as pork's best friend, but this recipe shows that sage might be a close second. I found the garlic flavor was a little lost, given the effort of studding the ham with slivers. We had a smaller ham than called for (4.75 lbs) and found the 20 minutes per pound timing turned out a well-done roast - a few more minutes would have made it downright dry. A brine, or a closer eye on the roast, would have been nice.

The apples worked very well; reviewed separately.

useful (0)