Peckish Sister's Profile

From: Central, FL USA

Joined: December 11th, 2010

About me: I have always liked to cook, particularly breads, fruits, vegetables, vegetarian, poultry and lamb dishes. After marriage we cooked together progressively more difficult dishes with him doing the meat, grilling and frying, and I did the "dough" and the same type of things I had before. After children we started cooking more simply. After discovering the cause of my frequent migraines was an evolving long list of chemicals and odd ingredients, I began getting back to cooking from basic ingredients, and found I could be well again. I also try to cooking from what I can get in season at the ever present fruit and vegetable stands.

Favorite cookbook: America's Test Kitchen / Cooks Illustrated Books


Latest review:

July 24th, 2018

Chicken in Riesling with Grapes from Crockery Cookbook/over 120 Delicious Recipes for Your Crock-Pot Slow Cooker (Sunset Cookery Books)

I used slightly larger amounts than listed on the recipe to go with the package sizes of what I purchased. I don't do well with sulfites in wine and cherries were in season so instead used cherry juice... read more >


recipe reviews (451)
book reviews (18)
useful review votes (418)

Peckish Sister's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

30 Delicious Dump Cake Recipes

By Lori Burke
CreateSpace - 2012

17th July 2012

Apple Blueberry Dump Cake : page 233

A can of apple pie filling and 4 cups of blueberries. I used the frozen ones I am trying to use up. Other than that a typical dump cake with 1/2 cup of pecans. It was a nice quick crumble and great for breakfast.

useful (0)  


15th July 2012

Apple Dump Cake : page 204

Two cans of apple pie filling, yellow cake mix, lots of butter and pecans with a few other ingredients in a 9 X 13" pan. I wanted a dessert for the adults to go along with the ice cream sundaes at a potluck and it was very popular, with the vanilla ice cream on top. I will make this again for a pot luck dessert when I don't have time for measuring and chopping. I found I could use my cheese slicer the long ways on the sticks of butter to quickly cut thin slices to cover the dry cake mix.

useful (1)  


23rd July 2012

Black Forest Dump Cake : page 1251

This was a very quick dessert with lots of cherries from a can of pie filling and I substituted a 28 jar of Morello cherries for the can of cherries. Since you were supposed to use the liquid as well, we used only half of it. Then a box of cake mix, butter and pecans. It had strong chocolate flavor and the coconut and walnuts added a nice crunch. I don't usually use cake mixes, but this makes a quick dessert without a lot of chopping, measuring and mixing.

useful (1)  


15th July 2012 (edited: 23rd July 2012)

Chocolate Cherry Dump Cake : page 578

This was a very quick dessert with two cans of cherry pie filling a box of cake mix, butter and pecans. I substituted Butter Fudge cake mix for the Swiss Chocolate cake mix that I could not find. It had strong cherry and chocolate flavor and the pecans added a nice crunch. I don't usually use cake mixes, but this makes a quick dessert without a lot of chopping, measuring and mixing.

useful (1)  


25th August 2012

Hawaian Strawberry Dump Cake : page 714

This was another well received pot luck dessert. I used a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple instead of the 15 oz can called for and just did not use all of the juice. I used organic shredded and not sweetened coconut and was surprised that worked out well. The top was beautifully browned, it added a bit of crunch to the top and the pan was completely emptied. A nice variation on this type of dessert.

useful (0)  


23rd July 2012

Lemon Blueberry Dump Cake : page 782

This was a simple dump cake with 4 cups of blueberries. I used frozen ones. The cake mix was lemon and no nuts were used, so I did not find this version as interesting. The apple blueberry version has more fruit and also nuts and was superior to this one. However, it was very popular at a potluck.

useful (1)