southerncooker's Profile

From: Boomer, NC USA

Joined: January 3rd, 2010

About me: I collect cookbooks and love to cook and try new recipes. I tested recipes for Leite's Culinaria for almost eight years. I learned to cook from many good southern cooks including my Mom, Dad, several Aunts and my Grandmothers. My children and husband also like to cook and try new foods and recipes. My son still lives with us but our daughter is married. She often visits to cook with me. We are adventuresome eaters willing to try new things.


Latest review:

November 19th, 2018

Bourbon Roasted Pork Loin from Everyday Dorie: The Way I Cook

This was delicious. I know she says in the book not to use the good bourbon but all I had was Woodford Reserve so that's what I used. I marinated for about 8 hours in fridge. Loved the apples and onions... read more >


recipe reviews (2277)
book reviews (117)
useful review votes (485)

southerncooker's Reviews


Search Reviews:

7 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 7Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

The Arthritis Healthy Exchanges Cookbook (Healthy Exchanges Cookbooks)

By JoAnna M. Lund
Perigee Trade - 1998

18th May 2010

Alie's Kozy Minestrone Soup : page 68

This one's loaded with lots of great tasting veggies, kidney beans and macaroni. Wonderful meal for a cool day.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Border Scramble : page 275

We love these. A tortilla filled with ground beef, onions, salsa, potatoes, tomatoes, spices, cheese and sour cream. I've made them many times and will make them again and again.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Boston Baked Corn : page 92

This one was made in a slow cooker. We didn't like the taste at all. I won't be making it again.

useful (1)  


18th May 2010

Chicken and Biscuit Patchwork Dinner : page 166

Kinda like a chicken pot pie. Calls for canned biscuits for the topping. Quick and easy weeknight meal. Lots of tasty veggies.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Impossible Runzas : page 190

I had never heard of a runza before much less eaten one. These are pretty good though. Easy to make for any day of the week.

useful (0)  


This one is similar to a shepherds pie. It was good but not fantastic.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Zucchini Patties : page 96

These were easy to make and delicious. A great way to use up some summer zucchini.

useful (0)