southerncooker's Profile

From: Boomer, NC USA

Joined: January 3rd, 2010

About me: I collect cookbooks and love to cook and try new recipes. I tested recipes for Leite's Culinaria for almost eight years. I learned to cook from many good southern cooks including my Mom, Dad, several Aunts and my Grandmothers. My children and husband also like to cook and try new foods and recipes. My son still lives with us but our daughter is married. She often visits to cook with me. We are adventuresome eaters willing to try new things.


Latest review:

November 19th, 2018

Bourbon Roasted Pork Loin from Everyday Dorie: The Way I Cook

This was delicious. I know she says in the book not to use the good bourbon but all I had was Woodford Reserve so that's what I used. I marinated for about 8 hours in fridge. Loved the apples and onions... read more >


recipe reviews (2277)
book reviews (117)
useful review votes (485)

southerncooker's Reviews


Search Reviews:

2277 recipes reviewed. Showing 1 to 50Sort by: Book Title | Date | Rating | Recipe Title

Website: 12 Tomatoes

12tomatoes.com
 

7th March 2016

Chicken Kiev

Boneless skinless chicken breasts pounded thin, filled with garlic lemon butter, rolled breaded, browned on each side and finished in the oven. Easy and delicious week night supper. I served with cheesy mashed potatoes and a salad. Yum!

useful (1)  


The 1997 Joy of Cooking

By Marion Rombauer Becker, Ethan Becker, Irma S. Rombauer
Scribner - 1997

5th December 2010

Basic Pancakes

This is my go to pancake recipe. Simple but delicious pancakes. Light and fluffy and just waiting for some delicious toppings like syrup or fruit.

useful (1)  


1999 Taste of Home Annual Recipes

By Kathy Pohl
Country Store Reiman Pubs - 1998

11th May 2010

Savory Party Bread

Great for a party or for a snack. We've made this many times and sometimes even switch up the cheese to what ever we're in the mood for. Great right by the recipe too.

useful (2)  


11th May 2010 (edited: 2nd January 2011)

Savory Meat Pit

We love this one. A meal in a dish, even has some veggies.

useful (0)  


11th May 2010

German Pancake

This one is great with the sauteed apples and raisins on the same page. Makes a wonderful hearty breakfast.

useful (0)  


This is great with any breakfast but especially good with the German Pancake on the same page. I make this often especially in the fall and winter. We like it with the golden raisins but it's also good with regular raisins.

useful (0)  


Website: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

www.365daysofcrockpot.com
 

8th January 2018

Instant Pot 15 Bean Soup

Delicious version of 15 bean soup. Hubby and I enjoyed on a very cold winter day. Served with cornbread.

useful (0)  


Website: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

www.365daysofcrockpot.com
 

So great to cook the potatoes to mash and the meatloaf in the IP at the same time. Both turned out great. Meatloaf just needed a little time under the broiler with some extra BBQ sauce at the end. I served with some green beans I heated up and some toasted homemade beer batter bread from The Home Cook.

useful (0)  


Website: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

www.365daysofcrockpot.com
 

This one had an unusual taste for sloppy Joes but still good on a buttered toasted bun with dill pickle slices. It had chili sauce, Dijon Mustard, Worcestershire, onion, cream cheese and hamburger meat in it.

useful (0)  


Website: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

www.365daysofcrockpot.com
 

My son loves yellow curry and hasn't had it in awhile. That's what he always orders when we go to an Asian Fusion restaurant out of town and we haven't been in a long time. He said he saw one for the instant pot online so I did a search and found this one. I've made several of Karen's recipes and they always turn out great and this one was no exception. Son said it's as good as the one he orders and he wants me to make it again. He found some great precooked jasmine rice at Walmart for a great price so we used that instead of cooking our own. I also realized at the last minute I was out of curry powder so I made my own from a recipe online.

useful (0)  


5 Ingredient Fix: Easy, Elegant, and Irresistible Recipes

By Claire Robinson
Grand Central Life & Style - 2010

The five ingredients used to make these are unsalted butter, ripe bananas, either agave or honey and I used honey, egg and self-rising flour. She also gives you an idea for a toss in extra ingredient if you desire and suggests toasted pecans. Since I didn't have pecans on hand I used toasted walnuts. She also suggests you can serve them warm with a smear of cream cheese which my daughter did and she loved them that way. These were quiet good.

useful (0)  


Website: Adventures of a Nurse

www.adventuresofanurse.com
 

Very cheesy and quiet good. Hit with the family. Quick and Easy.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

7th March 2014

Tomato Soup

It had snowed here and I wanted something warm to eat. I was looking for a tomato soup recipe since I had some crushed tomatoes. I didn't have any milk or cream so I was trying to find one that didn't call for that. I finally found this one and it was delicious. I used siracha for the hot sauce and it gave it a nice little kick. I only used half as many onions as called for since it seemed quiet a lot and someone in the reviews for the recipe said it was a bit over whelming with onion. I used chicken broth for the broth since I didn't have veggie broth. I would definitely make this one again.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

My daughter and I really enjoyed these. I also stuffed a small zucchini the same way for my son in law who said it was ok. I bought the squash at our local farmers market and asked the lady I bought them from how to cook them she told me several ways and said this was one of her favorite and gave me a copy of the recipe. She also had other recipes there for the taking.

useful (0)  


The American Century Cookbook

By Jean Anderson
Clarkson Potter - 1997

My aunt used to make this and I was delighted to find the recipe in this book. This is a simple dish to make and is quiet delicious. The mushroom soup makes a wonderful sauce for the chicken and rice. Great for a weeknight meal. Add a salad or veggie and your meal is ready in no time.

useful (0)  


I love trying new pimento cheese recipes. This one was delicious and a southern classic.

useful (0)  


American Heart Association Grill It, Braise It, Broil It: And 9 Other Easy Techniques for Making Healthy Meals

By American Heart Association
Harmony - 2015

This was so flavorful. It comes from the microwave section. It's started in the microwave and finished in a fry pan with a tiny bit of olive oil, garlic, jalapeno and a splash of lime juice which really brightens up the dish. I served this wiht the Sirloin steak wht creamy horseradish sauce page 210 and Lemony Herb Potatoes page 244.

useful (0)  


This was very good. It's from the broiling section and a couple tomatoes are halved and broiled along side the steak. I served this with the broccoli and lemony herbed potatoes from the same book.

useful (0)  


While this was good they just weren't as flavorful as I would have liked. I don't think a 1/2 teaspoon of the oregano and lemon pepper was enough for the amount of potatoes.

useful (0)  


Website: And Edible Mosaic

www.anediblemosaic.com
 

This salad was requested by my daughter for her birthday this year. We both fell in love with it. Simple but so delicious.

useful (0)  


Appetites: A Cookbook

By Anthony Bourdain, Laurie Woolever
Ecco - 2016

Quick and easy work night supper. Delicious. I didn't have red peppers so I used orange and yellow.

useful (0)  


21st June 2018

Bodega sandwich

Bacon, scrambled eggs and American Cheese (said you could sub swiss) on a kaiser roll. Yummy breakfast. Couldn't help but smile when he said to serve it with sh*tty coffee.

useful (0)  


25th June 2018

Macaroni and Cheese

We loved the combination of cheeses in this one and the optional ham. I did only opt for a half amount of cayenne since mine is super hot. Next time I think I'd only do a fourth.

useful (0)  


25th September 2018

Chicken Salad

This was a very good version of chicken salad. I made a double batch so I could share with my daughter for our lunches this week, mine at work and hers with her son who just turned 2. We both agreed delicious but next time I'll let up on the mayonnaise a bit. A little too much for our tastes.

useful (0)  


22nd October 2018

New Mexico-style beef chili

I've had my eye on this recipe since I first got the Appetites book, but it's just been too hot here to enjoy chili. I finally made it for our Sunday supper tonight and it was delicious but a bit spicy. I did use harissa instead of the tomato paste as suggested since I had some in the fridge. I had to order a jar of diced Hatch Green Chilies from Amazon, since I am unable to find them here.

useful (0)  


The Apple Lover's Cookbook

By Amy Traverso
W. W. Norton & Company - 2011

27th August 2012 (edited: 27th August 2012)

Dutch Baby

We liked this one but it took much longer to cook that the recipe stated and it was still a bit on the wet side in places. This may have been my fault since it said to use a 12 inch cast iron skillet and I think mine is a 10 inch one. This was still very good and I'd make it again but use a little larger pan on less mixture. I didn't have any of the suggested apples but since it said to use a sweeter apple and I had some Virginia Beauties that we had recently picked from son-in-law's Grandma's trees I used those. The lemon juice squeezed over the baked dish gave it a nice brightness.

useful (0)  


11th September 2012 (edited: 11th September 2012)

Simple Apple Nut Cake

I had some apples that needed using up and had all the other ingredients on hand so decided this was the recipe to try. I'm happy I did as it's very good. In the apple notes the author says she's made this one with many different firm sweet apples and since both Pink Lady and Cameo were on that list and I knew the apples I had were one of those (came from my Dad and couldn't remember which he said he bought) I used those.

I like the cheat sheet given in this book for apple varieties to use in the recipes or when you're looking for either firm-tart, firm-sweet, or tender-tart apples.

useful (0)  


The Art and Soul of Baking

By Sur La Table, Cindy Mushet
Andrews McMeel Publishing - 2008

These are different but very tasty. They are very moist and great with a meal.

useful (1)  


Art of the Pie: A Practical Guide to Homemade Crusts, Fillings, and Life

By Kate McDermott, Andrew Scrivani
Countryman Press - 2016

4th April 2018

Triple Berry Pie

I made the all butter dough from this book to make this pie. I used a mix of raspberries, strawberries and blackberries. Yum!

useful (0)  


Excellent pie crust.

useful (0)  


The Arthritis Healthy Exchanges Cookbook (Healthy Exchanges Cookbooks)

By JoAnna M. Lund
Perigee Trade - 1998

This one's loaded with lots of great tasting veggies, kidney beans and macaroni. Wonderful meal for a cool day.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Boston Baked Corn

This one was made in a slow cooker. We didn't like the taste at all. I won't be making it again.

useful (1)  


18th May 2010

Zucchini Patties

These were easy to make and delicious. A great way to use up some summer zucchini.

useful (0)  


Kinda like a chicken pot pie. Calls for canned biscuits for the topping. Quick and easy weeknight meal. Lots of tasty veggies.

useful (0)  


This one is similar to a shepherds pie. It was good but not fantastic.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Impossible Runzas

I had never heard of a runza before much less eaten one. These are pretty good though. Easy to make for any day of the week.

useful (0)  


18th May 2010

Border Scramble

We love these. A tortilla filled with ground beef, onions, salsa, potatoes, tomatoes, spices, cheese and sour cream. I've made them many times and will make them again and again.

useful (0)  


At My Table: A Celebration of Home Cooking

By Nigella Lawson
Chatto & Windus - 2017

I loved this and it was really easy. I served it with scrambled eggs.

useful (0)  


15th April 2018

Egg Tortilla Pie

I loved this. The crispy edges of the tortilla were perfect for dipping into the runny yolk. Loved the addition of hot sauce to the top before baking.

useful (0)  


15th April 2018

Emergency Brownies

I wish I'd had some of the disposable pans in the size she says to use for this. Since I didn't I used a ramekin, but it would have worked better in the pans suggested. Despite that it was still delicious. Perfect size for 2 large or 4 small brownies.

useful (0)  


This cake is a little drier and less sweet than the usual carrot cake. I really enjoyed it with coffee. I also enjoyed the three types of ginger going on and the little bit of heat from them. It has ground and crystallized in the batter, ginger juice in the icing, and an extra sprinkle of crystallized on top. Getting the ginger juice was a breeze since she talks you thru it and I especially enjoyed how she showed you how in her show. You can do a search and watch her make this cake on you tube. I didn't have the cup and a fourth of chopped walnuts called for so I used about a half cup in the batter and a quarter cup sprinkled on top. It seemed like plenty to me.

useful (0)  


I couldn't find spelt spaghetti so substituted whole wheat. Good but better with just a little more soy. Might have been because I used low sodium soy sauce.

useful (0)  


Delicious and refreshing salad.

useful (0)  


24th April 2018

Turkish Eggs

I was really surprised at how much I loved this. I had tried another recipe once that had Greek yogurt paired with eggs and hated it. I think warming the yogurt made all the difference. Also the browned butter and Aleppo pepper didn't hurt either. Served with toasted sourdough bread for dipping in the browned butter, yogurt, and egg yolk.

useful (0)  


24th April 2018

Catalan toasts

Simple but oh so delicious. I used toasted sourdough bread and very ripe Roma tomatoes. Will definitely be making these again.

useful (0)  


I made a recipe and a half of this and the three of us devoured them. Delicious. They went perfectly with the Parmesan Crusted Tilapia from Gale Gand's Lunch.

useful (0)  


I didn't do the optional topping. First taste I had to add more butter and Parmesan. Made them better but I prefer my mashed potatoes with milk and not potato water. This is my least favorite recipe from this cookbook. Hoping to try the Potato Waffles p. 71 with some of the leftovers.

useful (0)  


7th June 2018

Parmesan French Toast

I thought this made a nice snack. Interesting version of French toast.

useful (0)  


7th June 2018

Potato Waffles

I used the leftover garlic and Parmesan mashed potatoes as suggested. I liked them better than the original potatoes. The bites of bacon with the waffle was delicious. Ketchup was also good on them. I'm sure I just made someone cringe. These waffles remind me a bit of the mashed potato cakes I've eaten and made all my life. I do like my families version better but these were still good.

useful (0)  


I didn't like this one as good as I thought I would. Perhaps it was because I was unable to find fresh horseradish root and had to use some jarred chopped horseradish.

useful (0)