hipcook's Profile

Joined: November 14th, 2009


Latest review:

February 23rd, 2020

Banana Foster Quinoa Pudding from Patricia's Pickles, Preserves, & Provisions

As a dessert, honestly, I found this disappointing. It's OK, but it tastes too much like someone tried to make it "healthy". The caramel isn't ooey-gooey enough, the custard isn't rich enough, the rum... read more >


recipe reviews (242)
book reviews (2)
useful review votes (98)

hipcook's Reviews


Search Reviews:

9 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 9Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

The Bob's Burgers Burger Book: Real Recipes for Joke Burgers

By Loren Bouchard, Bob's Burgers, Cole Bowden
Universe - 2016

8th September 2018

Chile Relleno - You - Didn't Burger : page 41

I want to like the idea of this burger. But the directions for making chile rellenos were entirely too vague for me to follow successfully. They were greasy, the cheese leaked, it was a mess. Maybe if I learn to make a chile relleno first I'll come back to this recipe. The cumin in the burgers was a hit though.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

How To Cook A Basic Burger Best : page 6

Solid advice on how to make a good burger. I think my burgers have been too thick, not wide enough, and overworked, and following these steps may be helping.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

If Looks Could Kale Burger : page 22

For some reason, I didn't love these kale chips. They were crispy but maybe a little too much so; seemed a little grainy as they broke up in my mouth. (Maybe early season kale is different than late season kale?) That said, they did add a nice crunchy texture to the burger.

useful (0)  


19th January 2020

Is This Your Chard? Burger : page 42

Good burger. Will make again. Cheese, sauteed greens, and caramelized onions combine to make a soft, succulent topping for a burger perfect for a winter's night.

Also a very forgiving concept - I used spinach instead of Swiss chard, which worked well, and American cheese instead of chevre, which played the role like a pretty good understudy. I only used half the red wine vinegar called for, because I wasn't sure how close I was to the right amount of greens; in retrospect I could have used a heavier hand. The recipe calls for serving on French rolls; a nice chewy-crunchy bread would have been better. But on a standard hamburger roll, they were still good burgers.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

New Bacon-ings Burger : page 11

Solid recipe for a basic bacon cheeseburger. I do like the burger technique in this book.

useful (0)  


1st November 2019

Plymouth Roquefort Burger : page 122

It's a neat take on a Thanksgiving burger - turkey, cranberry sauce, and blue cheese for some creaminess and spice. The apple I used added some generic sweetness but got lost; I wish I'd had a firm green apple on hand as called for. (Maybe I diced it too small to add any texture.) I made them slider-size; the recipe made 9 small burgers. Paying for a good blue cheese was worth it.

I thought they were only OK, creative in concept but still kind of bland. My family, however, enjoyed them a lot, so I may experiment some more to try and kick up the flavor and texture just a bit.

useful (0)  


1st March 2019

Sit and Spinach Burger : page 87

Nice enough burger. (I used arugula instead of spinach, which was fine.) The instruction to reduce the lemon juice and red wine vinegar with the burgers is odd; it keeps the burgers from browning and the sauce gets lost. I wonder if it wouldn't be better mixed in with the greens.

useful (0)  


28th May 2019

Totally Radish Burger : page 14

The radish-cucumber sauce is a neat idea. I disagree with the recommendation to use a microplane grater; we wanted a slightly larger grate to give more texture. This would be a great condiment on a more flavorful burger (like a lamb burger, or something with more heat); on a standard ground beef burger it added freshness but not a lot of zing.

useful (0)  


These were fantastic burgers. The shredded gruyere and caramelized onions made a fantastic rich creamy topping. Flavoring burgers with onion soup mix is kind of a throwback... but honestly, it still works.

useful (0)