hipcook's Profile

Joined: November 14th, 2009


Latest review:

September 22nd, 2019

Bourbon Apple Pear Sauce from I'm Just Here for the Food: Food + Heat = Cooking

Very nice take on applesauce. I made it to use up some overripe pears, and it worked just fine. It's also amazingly easy, and using the microwave means no worrying about whether the fruit's going to scorch. read more >


recipe reviews (235)
book reviews (2)
useful review votes (98)

hipcook's Reviews


Search Reviews:

7 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 7Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

The Bob's Burgers Burger Book: Real Recipes for Joke Burgers

By Loren Bouchard, Bob's Burgers, Cole Bowden
Universe - 2016

8th September 2018

Chile Relleno - You - Didn't Burger : page 41

I want to like the idea of this burger. But the directions for making chile rellenos were entirely too vague for me to follow successfully. They were greasy, the cheese leaked, it was a mess. Maybe if I learn to make a chile relleno first I'll come back to this recipe. The cumin in the burgers was a hit though.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

How To Cook A Basic Burger Best : page 6

Solid advice on how to make a good burger. I think my burgers have been too thick, not wide enough, and overworked, and following these steps may be helping.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

If Looks Could Kale Burger : page 22

For some reason, I didn't love these kale chips. They were crispy but maybe a little too much so; seemed a little grainy as they broke up in my mouth. (Maybe early season kale is different than late season kale?) That said, they did add a nice crunchy texture to the burger.

useful (0)  


18th July 2018

New Bacon-ings Burger : page 11

Solid recipe for a basic bacon cheeseburger. I do like the burger technique in this book.

useful (0)  


1st March 2019

Sit and Spinach Burger : page 87

Nice enough burger. (I used arugula instead of spinach, which was fine.) The instruction to reduce the lemon juice and red wine vinegar with the burgers is odd; it keeps the burgers from browning and the sauce gets lost. I wonder if it wouldn't be better mixed in with the greens.

useful (0)  


28th May 2019

Totally Radish Burger : page 14

The radish-cucumber sauce is a neat idea. I disagree with the recommendation to use a microplane grater; we wanted a slightly larger grate to give more texture. This would be a great condiment on a more flavorful burger (like a lamb burger, or something with more heat); on a standard ground beef burger it added freshness but not a lot of zing.

useful (0)  


These were fantastic burgers. The shredded gruyere and caramelized onions made a fantastic rich creamy topping. Flavoring burgers with onion soup mix is kind of a throwback... but honestly, it still works.

useful (0)