Peckish Sister's Profile

From: Central, FL USA

Joined: December 11th, 2010

About me: I have always liked to cook, particularly breads, fruits, vegetables, vegetarian, poultry and lamb dishes. After marriage we cooked together progressively more difficult dishes with him doing the meat, grilling and frying, and I did the "dough" and the same type of things I had before. After children we started cooking more simply. After discovering the cause of my frequent migraines was an evolving long list of chemicals and odd ingredients, I began getting back to cooking from basic ingredients, and found I could be well again. I also try to cooking from what I can get in season at the ever present fruit and vegetable stands.

Favorite cookbook: America's Test Kitchen / Cooks Illustrated Books


Latest review:

February 29th, 2020

Ratatouille from The Cook's Illustrated Cookbook: 2,000 Recipes from 20 Years of America's Most Trusted Cooking Magazine

This family favorite is the only way I have been able to eat eggplant, perhaps because it it salted, any excess moisture squeezed out and then roasted at a high temperature. If I am in a real hurry I use... read more >


recipe reviews (463)
book reviews (18)
useful review votes (418)

Peckish Sister's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Better homes and gardens homemade cookies cook book

By Better Homes and Gardens
Meredith Corp - 1975

27th October 2012

Buttermilk Brownies : page 29

These economical brownies only use cocoa powder, but have very intense chocolate flavor and appetizing dark color. The half a cup of chopped nuts are sprinkled on top of the frosting also made with cocoa powder and buttermilk. The texture of the brownies was so very smooth, cake-like, dense and moist I was almost convinced it was from a cake mix and I baked them myself. This made a large 15 X 10" pan full. I lined it with heavy duty foil so I could bend up the side to assure that the batter or frosting did not overflow the sides. A great potluck dish that was very popular.

useful (0)  


27th October 2012

Chewy Hermit Bars : page 12

So delicious, they are dangerous. This recipe in the book is a little odd as it is Just two paragraphs at the bottom of a page without a separate list of ingredients. I was inspired to try it as these were one of my mother's favorite cookies. These are dense, full of flavor and the walnuts in addition to the raisins add great bursts of flavor.

useful (0)  


27th October 2012

Molasses Ginger Bars : page 13

We had hoped that these would be similar to the Chewy Hermit Bars, but these were good unremarkable cookies that were eary to whip up with ingredients on hand.

useful (0)  


28th August 2011

Snickerdoodles : page 63

I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe that was rolled into balls, then into sugar, instead of a rolled cut-out cookie. This worked OK, but we should have rolled the complete cookie into sugar, instead of just the top. We used a huge assortment of sugars including plain sugar mixed with cinnamon. It was a great activity for kids of all ages to roll lumps of dough into balls and dip into sugar and sprinkles. The favorite ones were rolled into a mixture of same color sugar and nonpareils. I thought the dough could have used additional sugar, but these were a complete crowd pleaser.

useful (2)  


9th September 2012

Stuffed Date Bars : page 25

These rich bar cookies each have a whole date stuffed with a whole (small) pecan. This was a most unusual recipe and fun to make. But it took a long time especially since I started with cracking the pecans! Eating just one cookie is very satisfying with the range of tastes and textures. Worth making again. I was not sure how well it would store, but refridgerated it should be OK.

useful (1)  


18th September 2012

Tri-Level Brownies : page 26

Economical and restrained brownies, but still very delicious. These are made in an 11 X 7" pan (so smaller than my usual 9 X 13" pan). The first layer is an oatmeal, flour, brown sugar and butter crust. The second layer is walnut brownie, and the third layer is fudge frosting. I was shocked that the whole recipe only took 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate (no cocoa) and only 5/8 of a cup of butter. My favorite brownie recipe takes 8 squares of unsweetened chocolate. My son loved them (second only to marshmallow brownies).

useful (0)