kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

February 10th, 2019

Scallops and Broccoli from Stews (Williams-Sonoma Kitchen Library)

Not bad. I made a half recipe using a bit less of the carrots (real ones in spears, not "baby") and lots of ground pepper at table. read more >


recipe reviews (1237)
book reviews (54)
useful review votes (308)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

16 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 16Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

365 Ways to Cook Pasta

By Marie Simmons
Harpercollins - 1996

4th April 2015

Arugula and Garlic Sauce : page 146

Good and simple for a light dinner.

useful (0)  


4th April 2015

Broccoli and "Butterfly" Soup : page 48

A good quick soup. The quality of your chicken stock makes all the difference.
Serves 2-3 as a main (rather than 6).

useful (0)  


26th August 2017 (edited: 26th August 2017)

Fettuccine with Chicken Livers, Tomatoes, and Bacon : page 92

Really yummy. I'm not a chicken liver person, but this was good.
- Had 285g of chicken livers, so made a double recipe, out of which we'll get 6 servings rather than 8.
- Bet the bacon should really be pancetta; lardons would work too I think.
- Used some of my frozen tomato purée plus one (big) fresh tomato from the potager.
- Used fresh sage from the garden.
- Thought it needed quite a bit of salt and lots of pepper at the table.
We enjoyed.

useful (0)  


Half recipe was a fast dinner with a salad.

useful (0)  


Pretty and tasty.
Serves 2 as a one-dish dinner for two.
Half the butter is sufficient.

useful (0)  


A good pasta salad. I've used panga cut in strips in place of shrimp. That works too.

useful (0)  


Good.
Green pasta would be pretty.

useful (0)  


4th April 2015

Roasted Red Pepper and Ricotta Sauce : page 135

Good and fast.
Half recipe made lots of two.
Freeze up extra sauce.

useful (0)  


Good.
I used dried mixed shrooms. Added the red bell pepper to the sautéed veggies, just at the end (to avoid them being completely raw).

useful (0)  


4th April 2015

Spaghetti alla Puttanesca : page 7

A good take on a classic. Easy.
I used (homemade) seedless tomato sauce.

useful (0)  


Good, fast, from the pantry if bacon is available. (Lardons would probably work too.)

useful (0)  


From the pantry. Good and fast.

useful (0)  


From the pantry and fast.
Made more or less a full recipe with half the spaghetti as dinner for two.

useful (0)  


4th April 2015

Spaghetti with Salami and Peas : page 55

Healthy? Maybe not. Tasty? Yes.
And can probably be made with stuff you have in house whenever you have some nice salami wanting to be used.
I usually use shorter pasta, rather than spaghetti.
Also, half of the butter&olive oil specified (with a note to try all olive oil next time).

useful (0)  


A good pasta salad. I usually use broccoli instead of green beans and cuke instead of celery for crunch.

useful (0)  


Another good pasta salad. Two of us ate it all for dinner, although that was a bit piggy.

useful (0)