kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

February 10th, 2019

Scallops and Broccoli from Stews (Williams-Sonoma Kitchen Library)

Not bad. I made a half recipe using a bit less of the carrots (real ones in spears, not "baby") and lots of ground pepper at table. read more >


recipe reviews (1237)
book reviews (54)
useful review votes (308)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

200 Budget Meals (Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook)

By Sunil Vijayakar
Hamlyn - 2008

28th May 2018 (edited: 28th May 2018)

Bobotie : page 4

Interesting and good, sweet and spicy.
I made a half recipe and cooked in two individual casserole dishes. Used Thai red curry paste for the "medium curry paste".

The recipes says you can make a "stylish starter" by cooking in 4 individual ramekins. Since the recipe serves 4, those are some pretty serious starters. Maybe 6 or 8 would be a better number.

useful (0)  


16th May 2018

Fish Kebabs & Spring Onion Mash : page 174

The kebabs were good, and the smashed potatoes with crème fraîche, chopped cilantro and red chili, and spring onions were a treat.

useful (0)  


7th May 2018

Prawn & Crab Cakes with Chilli Jam : page 182

Tasty, but didn't make very good patties. This can be my problem, since I've always had a problem with them.

- Used two 140g cans of crab, which left me a bit short there.
- Didn't want to use up my fresh bread, so used about half the amount of panka for the "filling".
- Used a store-bought nem sauce rather than making the chilli jam.

Two of us piggies ate all 12 patties between us. Probably this would be a better starter with three patties each for four people.

useful (0)  


4th May 2018 (edited: 4th May 2018)

Rice Noodles with Lemon Chicken : page 144

This was quite good. Not sure it's "budget" -- how many people have things like rice noodles, sweet chili sauce, fresh parsley, and fresh coriander sitting around the house? (Well, I usually do, but I don't think I'm a typical cook.)

It's also fast, which is nice.

- My boneless chicken breasts were also skinless. That worked fine.
- My rice noodles do not get "done" sitting 10min in just-boiled water. They need to simmer for a bit. This isn't a problem.

Served with the Stir-Fried Ginger Broccoli (recipe on bottom of page) as suggested.

useful (0)  


16th May 2018

Salmon with Lime Courgettes : page 178

The salmon was ok, good enough, but nothing special.
But we both liked the lime courgettes/zucchini, even DH who is not a zuke fan. Long thin strips sautéed, then tossed with lime zest, lime juice, and chopped mint. Yum.

useful (0)  


26th May 2018

Spicy Pork Rolls with Minted Yogurt : page 130

This was a hit.
There were no pork scallops in the shop, so I used turkey scallops instead. The filling was a little soupier than paste. I spooned what wouldn't stay in the rolls on top before baking.
Very delicious.

I forgot to make the Minted Yogurt, but neither of us missed it.

useful (0)