kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

April 22nd, 2019

Best Grilled Chicken Thighs with Mustard and Tarragon from Cooks Illustrated

Excellent way to bbq chicken thighs. Tasty marinade that took well to the bbq treatment. read more >


recipe reviews (1265)
book reviews (57)
useful review votes (308)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

200 Budget Meals (Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook)

By Sunil Vijayakar
Hamlyn - 2008

28th May 2018 (edited: 28th May 2018)

Bobotie : page 4

Interesting and good, sweet and spicy.
I made a half recipe and cooked in two individual casserole dishes. Used Thai red curry paste for the "medium curry paste".

The recipes says you can make a "stylish starter" by cooking in 4 individual ramekins. Since the recipe serves 4, those are some pretty serious starters. Maybe 6 or 8 would be a better number.

useful (0)  


16th May 2018

Fish Kebabs & Spring Onion Mash : page 174

The kebabs were good, and the smashed potatoes with crème fraîche, chopped cilantro and red chili, and spring onions were a treat.

useful (0)  


7th May 2018

Prawn & Crab Cakes with Chilli Jam : page 182

Tasty, but didn't make very good patties. This can be my problem, since I've always had a problem with them.

- Used two 140g cans of crab, which left me a bit short there.
- Didn't want to use up my fresh bread, so used about half the amount of panka for the "filling".
- Used a store-bought nem sauce rather than making the chilli jam.

Two of us piggies ate all 12 patties between us. Probably this would be a better starter with three patties each for four people.

useful (0)  


4th May 2018 (edited: 4th May 2018)

Rice Noodles with Lemon Chicken : page 144

This was quite good. Not sure it's "budget" -- how many people have things like rice noodles, sweet chili sauce, fresh parsley, and fresh coriander sitting around the house? (Well, I usually do, but I don't think I'm a typical cook.)

It's also fast, which is nice.

- My boneless chicken breasts were also skinless. That worked fine.
- My rice noodles do not get "done" sitting 10min in just-boiled water. They need to simmer for a bit. This isn't a problem.

Served with the Stir-Fried Ginger Broccoli (recipe on bottom of page) as suggested.

useful (0)  


16th May 2018

Salmon with Lime Courgettes : page 178

The salmon was ok, good enough, but nothing special.
But we both liked the lime courgettes/zucchini, even DH who is not a zuke fan. Long thin strips sautéed, then tossed with lime zest, lime juice, and chopped mint. Yum.

useful (0)  


26th May 2018

Spicy Pork Rolls with Minted Yogurt : page 130

This was a hit.
There were no pork scallops in the shop, so I used turkey scallops instead. The filling was a little soupier than paste. I spooned what wouldn't stay in the rolls on top before baking.
Very delicious.

I forgot to make the Minted Yogurt, but neither of us missed it.

useful (0)