kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

November 11th, 2019

Rice with Black Pepper Sauce from The Savory Way

Very tasty, comfort food. Quick. - I didn't use mortar&pestle for the herbs, just chop-chop-chop. Gave the pepper corns (all 2tsps) a spin in the spice grinder. - I used about half mozzarella and... read more >


recipe reviews (1331)
book reviews (58)
useful review votes (309)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

7 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 7Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

American Wholefoods Cuisine: Over 1300 Meatless, Wholesome Recipes from Short Order to Gourmet (Plume)

By Nikki Goldbeck, David Goldbeck
Plume - 1984

15th February 2010

Avocado Dressing : page 289

Put everything in the blender, whiz, and you've got a great salad dressing.

useful (0)  


15th February 2010

Eggs and Potatoes : page 130

Kind of an omelet with lots of variations.

useful (0)  


9th July 2010

Macaroni Salad : page 48

This kind of thing seems a bit old-fashioned right now, but it was quite a good dish. Nothing fancy or spicy, just simple and good. My sauce was a bit runny, but I expect that's because I used my stick blender to buzz the not-quite-unfrozen ricotta and yogurt together. If I'd planned ahead a bit better, I could have mixed this by hand and it would have been a bit thicker. A short 1-1/2 cups of macaroni made about 4 cups cooked, as asked by the recipe. It might be nice to double the veggies (green olives, red bell pepper, and scallion). I think you could add lots of bits of different veggies it would be fine.
The recipe says it serves 4-6; I think 6-8 might be more like it.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Peanut-Buttered Grain : page 271

Whiz the soy sauce and peanut butter (or any nut butter) in the blender, toss with some sautéed onions and some (leftover) cooked grain, and you've got a great tasting side for the rest of the meal.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Skillet Corn, Chilies, and Cheese : page 43

Nothing fancy, but easy, fast, and tasty. Could be served in smaller portions over lettuce as a starter perhaps.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Spinach and Chickpeas with Feta : page 178

Easy, fast, tasty.

useful (0)  


15th February 2010

Ziti with Cheese : page 40

At our house, this recipe srved 2 as a the main course, tasty and fast.

useful (0)