kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

April 22nd, 2019

Best Grilled Chicken Thighs with Mustard and Tarragon from Cooks Illustrated

Excellent way to bbq chicken thighs. Tasty marinade that took well to the bbq treatment. read more >


recipe reviews (1265)
book reviews (57)
useful review votes (308)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

7 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 7Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

American Wholefoods Cuisine: Over 1300 Meatless, Wholesome Recipes from Short Order to Gourmet (Plume)

By Nikki Goldbeck, David Goldbeck
Plume - 1984

15th February 2010

Avocado Dressing : page 289

Put everything in the blender, whiz, and you've got a great salad dressing.

useful (0)  


15th February 2010

Eggs and Potatoes : page 130

Kind of an omelet with lots of variations.

useful (0)  


9th July 2010

Macaroni Salad : page 48

This kind of thing seems a bit old-fashioned right now, but it was quite a good dish. Nothing fancy or spicy, just simple and good. My sauce was a bit runny, but I expect that's because I used my stick blender to buzz the not-quite-unfrozen ricotta and yogurt together. If I'd planned ahead a bit better, I could have mixed this by hand and it would have been a bit thicker. A short 1-1/2 cups of macaroni made about 4 cups cooked, as asked by the recipe. It might be nice to double the veggies (green olives, red bell pepper, and scallion). I think you could add lots of bits of different veggies it would be fine.
The recipe says it serves 4-6; I think 6-8 might be more like it.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Peanut-Buttered Grain : page 271

Whiz the soy sauce and peanut butter (or any nut butter) in the blender, toss with some sautéed onions and some (leftover) cooked grain, and you've got a great tasting side for the rest of the meal.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Skillet Corn, Chilies, and Cheese : page 43

Nothing fancy, but easy, fast, and tasty. Could be served in smaller portions over lettuce as a starter perhaps.

useful (1)  


15th February 2010

Spinach and Chickpeas with Feta : page 178

Easy, fast, tasty.

useful (0)  


15th February 2010

Ziti with Cheese : page 40

At our house, this recipe srved 2 as a the main course, tasty and fast.

useful (0)