kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

September 15th, 2020

Beef TIkka from Reza's Indian Spice

Delicious grilled meat cubes, twice marinated. A little bit of work early in the day, but then they sit until you're ready for them. Would be a good meal for company since there's little work needed at... read more >


recipe reviews (1395)
book reviews (62)
useful review votes (310)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

4 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 4Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Greene on Greens

By Bert Greene
Workman Publishing Company - 1984

27th October 2010 (edited: 27th October 2010)

Mildred Schulz's String Beans and Potatoes : page 346

I suppose this is meant as side dish. I made close to double as a main course for two. I was afraid the vinegar might be overwhelming, but it wasn't. The whole effect was delicious, and looked quite pretty piled on the plates.

useful (2)  


26th July 2011

Mingle Mangle (Warm Zucchini Salad) : page 399

Very good. The recipe says it serves 4-6; 6 would be very dainty servings.

This dish really is a salad, with the zukes tossed in a hot creamy sauce, finishing up rather lukewarm.

It could be served as an starter, maybe served in small shallow dishes.
It could be sered as a proper side. We had it on the table as a side, but ended up eating it separately after the pork and polenta (which really wasn't conducive to a saucy side on the same plate).
My husband suggested it might make a good pasta sauce, and I think he might be right here. The cream sauce would be very nice with a pasta-with-shape, gemelli, fusilli, etc. This will be its next appearance on our table, maybe even in this zucchini season, where we're struggling to use the bounty from our garden.

useful (1)  


16th July 2015

Pachadi—Indian Cucumber Salad : page 147

I made a half recipe and we liked it a lot. I'm not really sure how Indian it is with sour cream and black olives, but it was very tasty.
- No radishes in house, but this would be a nice addition.
- I didn't make up all the yogurt/sour cream mixture. Expect it would have been a bit too saucy.

useful (0)  


21st August 2011 (edited: 22nd August 2011)

Zucchini and Lemon Salad : page 400

A very nice salad, surprisingly good.
I didn't have a red bell pepper on hand, so I used some roasted ones from a jar.
Thinly slicing a peeled lemon was non-trivial. :-)
Made a nice starter on lettuce leaves.
Needs to be made ahead, since it sits for an hour (or more, I'm sure).
Would be a nice starter for company.

One-day old leftovers were surprisingly good. One more day, and the zucchini would be pretty soggy though.

useful (0)