southerncooker's Profile

From: Boomer, NC USA

Joined: January 3rd, 2010

About me: I collect cookbooks and love to cook and try new recipes. I tested recipes for Leite's Culinaria for almost eight years. I learned to cook from many good southern cooks including my Mom, Dad, several Aunts and my Grandmothers. My children and husband also like to cook and try new foods and recipes. My son still lives with us but our daughter is married. She often visits to cook with me. We are adventuresome eaters willing to try new things.


Latest review:

November 19th, 2018

Bourbon Roasted Pork Loin from Everyday Dorie: The Way I Cook

This was delicious. I know she says in the book not to use the good bourbon but all I had was Woodford Reserve so that's what I used. I marinated for about 8 hours in fridge. Loved the apples and onions... read more >


recipe reviews (2277)
book reviews (117)
useful review votes (485)

southerncooker's Reviews


Search Reviews:

8 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 8Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Basic to Brilliant, Y'all: 150 Refined Southern Recipes and Ways to Dress Them Up for Company

By Virginia Willis, Helene Dujardin, Anne Willan
Ten Speed Press - 2011

3rd March 2012 (edited: 3rd March 2012)

Cheddar Butter : page 230

This was wonderful on the Jalapeño Cornbread Muffins from the same page. This was a Brilliant Short Recipe. It was easy to whip up and so tasty. I know it would be good on other things as well. Cheddar, softened butter, garlic, hot sauce, salt and pepper, I agree!, Brilliant! Be sure to serve at room temperature so it spreads easy.

I didn't bother with the food processor since it stirred up easily with a fork. I only made half a recipe.

useful (0)  


9th March 2012

Creme Fraiche : page 16

I can almost never find creme fraiche in my local supermarket when I need some for a recipe. I was planning on testing a recipe and it called for creme fraiche and I found the recipe in this book and decided to give it a go. It worked perfectly and tasted great in my recipe. Now any time I need some I can make my own for a lot cheaper than I can purchase it , if I can find it in the first place.

useful (1)  


15th December 2012

Deviled Chicken Thighs : page 116

I was expecting a little more flavor but this was still quiet good. I think it will be even better next time by bumping up the chili flakes a bit and adding some salt to the thighs before spreading on the Dijon, coarse grain mustard and chili flakes, then dipping in egg and finally panko. The panko gives a nice crisp crust straight from the oven. I did use the optional butter dotted on the tops before baking.

useful (0)  


3rd March 2012

Jalpeno Cornbread Muffins : page 230

These were very good. I made half a recipe for six muffins. I think I could have used the whole jalapeño though since they weren't that hot. I did decide to make the Cheddar Butter to bring the recipe to brilliant and was glad I did since the muffins were delicious with the butter. These muffins were the perfect accompaniment to the Lentil Soup from Soup's On.

useful (0)  


6th September 2013

Okra Cornmeal Cakes : page 182

A neighbour gave us an abundance of okra so after frying a mess I went looking for some more ways to use it up. I made my daughter and I some of my okra, tomato, corn gumbo and made these to go with. We loved them and they went fantastically with the gumbo.

useful (1)  


3rd March 2012

Pinto Beans with Side Meat : page 196

Hubby and I both agreed we like the way I cook pintos better either with peanut butter, ham hock or ham bone. Although we enjoy salt pork as a seasoning didn't care for it with the beans. Hubby also didn't like the taste the thyme and bay leaves (I used dried since I couldn't find fresh ones) lent to the dish. We didn't mind the broth nor the onions. I did top mine with some of mine and Mom's homemade Mexican Chow-Chow and served the beans with cornbread. For us these beans were just ok and not a recipe I'd use again.

useful (0)  


12th August 2012

Sweet Peach Pancakes : page 220

I made these for Mom and I the other day with a nice ripe white peach from a local peach farm. We really enjoyed them. They look nice with the peach slices in the middle of the pancake but my pancakes came out a bit lopsided. They still tasted great though.

useful (0)  


30th December 2015

Sweet Potato Biscuits : page 222

While these were very good especially made into country ham biscuits I enjoy a version from Martha Stewart better. I made a half recipe and got 6. Whole recipe says it makes 16. Maybe I compromised the recipe by halving it.

useful (0)