Peckish Sister's Profile

From: Central, FL USA

Joined: December 11th, 2010

About me: I have always liked to cook, particularly breads, fruits, vegetables, vegetarian, poultry and lamb dishes. After marriage we cooked together progressively more difficult dishes with him doing the meat, grilling and frying, and I did the "dough" and the same type of things I had before. After children we started cooking more simply. After discovering the cause of my frequent migraines was an evolving long list of chemicals and odd ingredients, I began getting back to cooking from basic ingredients, and found I could be well again. I also try to cooking from what I can get in season at the ever present fruit and vegetable stands.

Favorite cookbook: America's Test Kitchen / Cooks Illustrated Books


Latest review:

February 4th, 2020

Coconut Rice Pudding from Slow Cooker Revolution

I love this dairy-free, delicious rice pudding made with light coconut milk. I leave out the garam masala. It is important to use medium rice. I had been using arborio rice, but it tasted too starchy.... read more >


recipe reviews (462)
book reviews (18)
useful review votes (418)

Peckish Sister's Reviews


Search Reviews:

4 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 4Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

America's Best Lost Recipes: 121 Heirloom Recipes Too Good to Forget

By The Editors of Cook's Country Magazine
Cook's Illustrated - 2007

3rd September 2011 (edited: 3rd September 2011)

Blueberry Boy Bait : page 111

This buttery rich blueberry coffee cake was easy to whip up. My Florida blueberries are very large so I increased the amount in the coffee cake itself as 1/2 cup looked very sparse. This would be great if you needed a blueberry coffee cake in a hurry, but is not my favorite recipe.

useful (1)  


25th August 2012

Clara's Chocolate Torte : page 140

The base of the cake has dates softened in boiling water which adds to the moistness. It is topped with walnuts and chocolate chips. It tastes as delicious as it looks. I love that it is made in a 9 X 13" pan so it makes a fair amount. It is rather easy to mix up as there is no additional topping or frosting that goes on later. The story that goes along with it about how long this cake has been made also makes you want to cook it.

useful (1)  


9th September 2012

Monkey Bread : page 75

This is a very good plain monkey bread. I prefer mine with nuts and sometimes raisins. But if you just want a sticky, not overly sweet breakfast treat, this is a great recipe. I do like that they tell you how many pieces to cut it into at the start. I remembered to only partially dip each ball into the melted butter. It is easy to spread it with your fingers to cover the rest of the ball; otherwise I have run out of melted butter before. I also try to keep one hand for the butter and the other for the sugar. I also did not let mine rise as high as they recommended and it turned out perfectly.

useful (0)  


14th July 2012 (edited: 14th July 2012)

Pioneer Bread : page 91

A mostly whole wheat sweet breakfast bread with buttermilk, walnuts, raisins and dates, and no oil or fat. It came together rather quidkly, cooked the exacted amount of time specified and looked just like the picture in the book! It was remarkably moist and delicious and what just what I was in the mood for. It made two loaves and I have the leftovers presliced and wrapped for breakfast on the go!

useful (2)