southerncooker's Profile

From: Boomer, NC USA

Joined: January 3rd, 2010

About me: I collect cookbooks and love to cook and try new recipes. I tested recipes for Leite's Culinaria for almost eight years. I learned to cook from many good southern cooks including my Mom, Dad, several Aunts and my Grandmothers. My children and husband also like to cook and try new foods and recipes. My son still lives with us but our daughter is married. She often visits to cook with me. We are adventuresome eaters willing to try new things.


Latest review:

November 19th, 2018

Bourbon Roasted Pork Loin from Everyday Dorie: The Way I Cook

This was delicious. I know she says in the book not to use the good bourbon but all I had was Woodford Reserve so that's what I used. I marinated for about 8 hours in fridge. Loved the apples and onions... read more >


recipe reviews (2277)
book reviews (117)
useful review votes (485)

southerncooker's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

By Ina Garten, Martha Stewart
Clarkson Potter - 1999

10th October 2011

Cheddar Corn Chowder : page 74

We all thought this was very good. We made a half recipe and it was still enough to feed an army though. My daughter took a quart home with her and I still have a huge bowl of left overs in the fridge. It went well with the Parmesan Croutons from page 87.

useful (0)  


6th September 2010

Fresh Corn Salad : page 101

This is an excellent summer side dish. We make it with fresh corn cut from the cob just as Ina suggested. My son liked it without the basil and I liked it either way. Easy and delicious.

useful (1)  


3rd October 2011

Pan-fried onion dip : page 53

This is an excellent dip. The only thing I might try differently next time is to use about half the amount of butter and oil. My onions were practically swimming in oil which I had to drain off before cooling. I don't have a stand mixer with a paddle attachment but this worked well with a hand held mixer. My tasters all agree this was much better than store bought dip and it's really a easy to make. The hardest part is waiting for the onions to get nice and browned. I'll be making this one again.

useful (1)  


10th October 2011

Parmesan Croutons : page 87

Like Peckish Sister my French loaf was rather large so my croutons were on the large side. They were delicious with the Corn Chowder from page 74 and also good with some radish butter I made from the Lee Brothers Simple Southern Cookbook. I think these would also be great with many other soups and also as a snack by their-selves.

useful (0)  


28th August 2010

Roasted Brussels Sprouts : page 150

A very simple way to fix Brussels sprouts but oh so delicious. My daughter doesn't care for them but will eat them this way.

useful (1)  


3rd October 2011

Roasted Carrots : page 149

Such a simple recipe but so delicious. I used dill and it was a hit. This is one I know I'll be making often as I love carrots.

useful (0)