southerncooker's Profile

From: Boomer, NC USA

Joined: January 3rd, 2010

About me: I collect cookbooks and love to cook and try new recipes. I tested recipes for Leite's Culinaria for almost eight years. I learned to cook from many good southern cooks including my Mom, Dad, several Aunts and my Grandmothers. My children and husband also like to cook and try new foods and recipes. My son still lives with us but our daughter is married. She often visits to cook with me. We are adventuresome eaters willing to try new things.


Latest review:

November 19th, 2018

Bourbon Roasted Pork Loin from Everyday Dorie: The Way I Cook

This was delicious. I know she says in the book not to use the good bourbon but all I had was Woodford Reserve so that's what I used. I marinated for about 8 hours in fridge. Loved the apples and onions... read more >


recipe reviews (2277)
book reviews (117)
useful review votes (485)

southerncooker's Reviews


Search Reviews:

14 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 14Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

At My Table: A Celebration of Home Cooking

By Nigella Lawson
Chatto & Windus - 2017

24th April 2018

Bashed Cucumber and Radish Salad : page 98

Delicious and refreshing salad.

useful (0)  


24th April 2018

Catalan toasts : page 37

Simple but oh so delicious. I used toasted sourdough bread and very ripe Roma tomatoes. Will definitely be making these again.

useful (0)  


15th April 2018

Egg Tortilla Pie : page 19

I loved this. The crispy edges of the tortilla were perfect for dipping into the runny yolk. Loved the addition of hot sauce to the top before baking.

useful (0)  


15th April 2018

Emergency Brownies : page 233

I wish I'd had some of the disposable pans in the size she says to use for this. Since I didn't I used a ramekin, but it would have worked better in the pans suggested. Despite that it was still delicious. Perfect size for 2 large or 4 small brownies.

useful (0)  


6th June 2018

Garlic Parmesan Mashed Potatoes : page 66

I didn't do the optional topping. First taste I had to add more butter and Parmesan. Made them better but I prefer my mashed potatoes with milk and not potato water. This is my least favorite recipe from this cookbook. Hoping to try the Potato Waffles p. 71 with some of the leftovers.

useful (0)  


This serves two so I made it for mine and sons supper. We enjoyed it but decided not enough to make again.
Image may contain: food

useful (0)  


20th April 2018

Ginger and Walnut Carrot Cake : page 252

This cake is a little drier and less sweet than the usual carrot cake. I really enjoyed it with coffee. I also enjoyed the three types of ginger going on and the little bit of heat from them. It has ground and crystallized in the batter, ginger juice in the icing, and an extra sprinkle of crystallized on top. Getting the ginger juice was a breeze since she talks you thru it and I especially enjoyed how she showed you how in her show. You can do a search and watch her make this cake on you tube. I didn't have the cup and a fourth of chopped walnuts called for so I used about a half cup in the batter and a quarter cup sprinkled on top. It seemed like plenty to me.

useful (0)  


7th June 2018

Parmesan French Toast : page 38

I thought this made a nice snack. Interesting version of French toast.

useful (0)  


7th June 2018

Potato Waffles : page 71

I used the leftover garlic and Parmesan mashed potatoes as suggested. I liked them better than the original potatoes. The bites of bacon with the waffle was delicious. Ketchup was also good on them. I'm sure I just made someone cringe. These waffles remind me a bit of the mashed potato cakes I've eaten and made all my life. I do like my families version better but these were still good.

useful (0)  


27th April 2018

Salt and Vinegar Potatoes : page 127

I made a recipe and a half of this and the three of us devoured them. Delicious. They went perfectly with the Parmesan Crusted Tilapia from Gale Gand's Lunch.

useful (0)  


I couldn't find spelt spaghetti so substituted whole wheat. Good but better with just a little more soy. Might have been because I used low sodium soy sauce.

useful (0)  


15th April 2018

Tomato and Fried Bread Hash : page 26

I loved this and it was really easy. I served it with scrambled eggs.

useful (0)  


24th June 2018

Tomato and Horseradish Salad : page 89

I didn't like this one as good as I thought I would. Perhaps it was because I was unable to find fresh horseradish root and had to use some jarred chopped horseradish.

useful (0)  


24th April 2018

Turkish Eggs : page 14

I was really surprised at how much I loved this. I had tried another recipe once that had Greek yogurt paired with eggs and hated it. I think warming the yogurt made all the difference. Also the browned butter and Aleppo pepper didn't hurt either. Served with toasted sourdough bread for dipping in the browned butter, yogurt, and egg yolk.

useful (0)