jenncc's Profile

Joined: September 3rd, 2011


Latest review:

October 24th, 2020

Rainbow Sprinkle Cake from The New York Times

I used this recipe, halving the frosting, to make 12 large and 2 small cupcakes. It was exactly enough frosting (no left overs) for a piped swirl atop each. I baked the cupcakes the day before and though... read more >


recipe reviews (957)
book reviews (1)
useful review votes (208)

jenncc's Reviews


Search Reviews:

6 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 6Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours

By Dorie Greenspan, Alan Richardson
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - 2010

13th February 2014

Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise) : page 490

Finally got over my raw egg anxiety and whipped (and whipped and whipped) this up. I opted for the 5 or maybe 6 (?) cloves of garlic and an extra squirt of lemon. It did take mine a bit longer to come together (lots of whipping) but when it did it was divine!

useful (0)  


19th September 2013

Cauliflower - Bacon Gratin : page 362

This is delicious! I used a small cauliflower and went with only 4 eggs, and a little less of everything else. Dorie calls it quiche like but I also found it reminiscent of a soufflé. Really lovely along side a steak or roast.

useful (1)  


10th January 2017

Marie-Helene's Apple Cake : page 432

Apples with a little cake - I loved it. It was a lovely golden color with a very moist crumb - almost like bread pudding. I used a variety of apples and the flavor was wonderful.

useful (0)  


13th February 2014

Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux : page 200

Moist flavorful chicken with crispy skin and the special added bonus bread! This was terrific and is now my go to recipe. Let it rest as Dorie suggests - propped up, tail in the air, on a bowl to allow the juices to redistribute back into the breast meat.

useful (0)  


5th July 2012

Salted Butter Break-Ups : page 400

A delicious buttery cookie with a slight crunch of salt here and there. These are fantastic! This makes one large cookie that guest break-up and take as big or as small a piece as they wish. The dough came together fast and rolled out easily. The important thing with this is to have a consistent thickness so the edges don't burn while the middle of the cookie stays too soft. Mine needed the full 40 minutes and came out with lovely brown edges (my favorite part) and a light golden flaky center.

useful (1)  


11th May 2013

Tomatoes Provencal : page 344

Simple but with big, bold flavor! Terrific even when tomatoes are not at their peak. I add a sprinkle of parmesan and chili flakes a few minutes before taking then out of the oven.

useful (2)