jenncc's Profile

Joined: September 3rd, 2011


Latest review:

October 24th, 2020

Rainbow Sprinkle Cake from The New York Times

I used this recipe, halving the frosting, to make 12 large and 2 small cupcakes. It was exactly enough frosting (no left overs) for a piped swirl atop each. I baked the cupcakes the day before and though... read more >


recipe reviews (957)
book reviews (1)
useful review votes (208)

jenncc's Reviews


Search Reviews:

957 recipes reviewed. Showing 1 to 50Sort by: Book Title | Date | Rating | Recipe Title

Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

3rd June 2016

Plum and Peach Crisp

Loved the chunky topping and the hint of orange flower. This is a somewhat reduced fat recipe with half the butter being replaced by yogurt (I used Greek) and less sugar all around (I used brown). I halved the peach/plum filling but made the entire crumb topping with the intention of baking some up separately for ice cream topping. This came together quickly and would be delicious with many other fruits.

useful (0)  


The 1997 Joy of Cooking

By Marion Rombauer Becker, Ethan Becker, Irma S. Rombauer
Scribner - 1997

17th September 2013

Grated Butternut Squash Gratin

This is a super simple heart side dish. Ok. grating is a bit of a pain, but not any worse than peeling squash - that's the real battle (imo). I used a Red Leicester cheese and added a dash of cayenne pepper. It was delicious.

useful (0)  


2nd March 2019

Tapioca Custard

Perfect comfort food for a rainy day! This is a basic recipe with a couple variations (with 2 eggs, 1 egg or no eggs/with 3 tablespoons tapioca or 4). I used 1 egg, skimped on the sugar by a tablespoon or so, and used slightly over 3 tablespoons tapioca. I let it sit and brought it to a very slow simmer with a cinnamon stick to give it a subtle warm flavor. After it cooled it was creamy with just a little jiggle;)

useful (0)  


This is a basic Mac and Cheese recipe,and while it is good, it was a little denser than I prefer. My favorite recipes yield a looser, creamier mac and cheese. I also did not particularly enjoy the addition of onion and bay leaf.

useful (0)  


Ad Hoc at Home

By Thomas Keller
Artisan - 2009

19th April 2012

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

This is a basic carrot cake, and I liked that it didn't have pineapple, but it was lacking in spice and less moist than I've made in the past. If you need a carrot cake go with Sweet Melissa Murphy's recipe - it's amazing!

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

29th May 2013

Naan

Reading the reviews was helpful - I cooked in a dry cast iron skillet, added less sugar (cut it to 1 heaping tablespoon) and used only 3 1/2 cups of flour. Came out great! I also used ghee instead of melted butter. I may use the more traditional yogurt over milk next time next time.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

29th January 2014 (edited: 17th August 2016)

Almond and Soy Nut Power Bars

These are excellent! I changed the flavors a bit since I am not a chocolate fan, instead using lemon flavored chips (like chocolate chips, but lemon:), butterscotch chips, dried berries, and whatever nuts I have on hand. This bar holds together, has great texture and just the right sweetness! They freeze well too.

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

These were moist and tasty with a perfectly tender crumb. I ended up with 12 muffins and a small coffee cake (mini loaf pan size). The cornmeal is a nice addition, giving the muffins a bit of texture.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

24th October 2015 (edited: 23rd April 2016)

Chard Lentil Soup Lebanese Style

Excellent!! Made with kale and only had 1/2 cup lemon juice but it was perfect.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

12th October 2015

Carne Guisada II

Love this! It reminds me of the Tex-Mex tacos I am always homesick for. Mine doesn't take the 8-12 hours suggested but more like 4 or 5 hours. I have made this in the slow cooker as well (cook time about 5 hours). I do add about 1/2 an onion which I brown before adding the meat.

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

12th September 2015 (edited: 24th May 2016)

Cinnamon Stove Top Granola

Love this simple granola. The molasses (I occasionally use sorghum) adds a wonderful depth and compliments the cinnamon wonderfully. The combination of toasted pecans and dried tart cherries or blueberries works really well. This is a softer granola that doesn't really cluster or crisp unless you bake it in a low (325 degree) oven for a bit. Either way let it cool completely before digging in.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

19th January 2016

Stovetop Granola

First time I followed the recipe and it was very good and super simple. The second time around I added the fruit and nuts before the granola cooled completely and cut into bars, and that was also terrific. I always add cinnamon or some other spice to this very versitile recipe.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

24th March 2016

Parmesan Chicken II

These were crispy and tasty! That said I did follow others lead in making some adjustments making a half recipe- added herbs, white pepper and about 1/3 cup bread crumbs, some Italian herbs, and par boiled the chicken about 15 minutes before dredging and baking. It came out tender and delicious.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

22nd July 2016

Focaccia di Recco

This is an excellent recipe - thorough directions and worth the effort. Not like a typical focaccia, this is 2 layers of paper thin dough with cheese dropped in between. Great with an arugula salad, or for a more substantial meal with a homemade caponata. I got 2 full size focaccia's and one smaller one. I used the recommended cheese for two of them (delicious) and fontina with torn strips of prosciutto - also great!

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

Simple and tasty.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

30th August 2016 (edited: 10th November 2018)

Asian Coconut Rice

I halved this recipe and allowed the rice to caramelize a bit on the bottom for a bit of crunch. Delicious!

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

This was pretty good, if not a tad bit too sweet. I added some room temperature cream cheese to offset the cloying sweetness and it was much better.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

24th December 2016 (edited: 24th December 2016)

Sugar Cookie Icing

This makes for a beautiful cookie - glossy and hardens just enough. I did need an additional teaspoon of milk to make mine spreadable/pipe smoothly.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

Tasty sauce. Ate with a homemade buckwheat pasta (Washington Post). I sauteed the mushrooms with thyme, oregano, garlic and a tiny bit of onion before adding the other ingredients. Used water instead of broth and it was still very flavorful. Topped with some bacon.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

26th January 2018

Hot Carob

This is a great alternative to hot cocoa. I used toasted carob (Bob's Red Mill) and hazelnut milk. The recipe calls for 1 T. honey which was a little too sweet for me, however the use of the nut milk could also account for that. Either way I will be making this again, cutting the honey and enjoying!

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

I love rice pudding and this one was no exception - comforting, not too sweet and creamy. I had no problems incorporating the egg into the hot mixture, but it did take longer than 10 minutes to reach an appropriate level of doneness and to get the milk absorbed. I prefer making my pudding with a shorter grain rice and will try that next time.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

13th January 2019 (edited: 13th January 2019)

Mexina Salsa Verde

This made good use of the lingering green tomatoes from my garden. I did add a pinch of chili powder and cumin to balance my flavors a bit.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

2nd June 2019

Fluffy Pancakes

"Fluffy" Pancakes were requested this morning and these fit the bill. Wonderful texture, flavor and easy as any pancakes recipe.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

7th July 2019 (edited: 22nd June 2020)

Super Lemon Ice Cream

This came out perfect - creamy, tart, sweet and refreshing! My new favorite Lemon treat. I was worried my eggs may have scrambled a bit so I strained and texture was wonderful. I think allowing the ice cream to "cure" overnight in the fridge was helpful to both taste and texture. Made this again 6/22/20 and I have to say this is the best use of five egg yolks I can think of! So delicious!

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

28th April 2020

Potato Chips

These are easy and really hit the spot when you need a little salty crunch to go with your meal. I cut my potato using a mandolin, tossed in oil, sprinkled with salt (before cooking) and microwaved on parchment placed directly on the revolving plate of the microwave. I tried using a plate and they stuck a bit and did not cook as evenly.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

7th June 2020

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

Other than scaling this recipe back I followed this recipe closely. It wasn't as spicy as expected and I am not sure how authentic it is but it was delicious served over rice.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

This is a pretty good dressing. I scaled this down based on other reviewers ratios.

useful (0)  


Website: Always Order Dessert

www.alwaysorderdessert.com
 

27th February 2017

Salted Honey Caramel Popcorn

This was delicious! I cut both the honey and sugar by (a generous) half and it was plenty sticky /sweet. The flaked salt made it addictive!

useful (0)  


Ama A Modern Tex-Mex Kitchen

By Josef Centeno
- 2000

28th September 2020

Tia Carmen's Flour Tortillas

The end product was great- soft and pliable, however it took a major adjustment. The dough was much too wet! I added about 1/3-1/2 cup flour and that worked. These are the perfect vessel for fajitas, beans or eggs and bacon.

useful (0)  


The American Boulangerie: Authentic French Pastries and Breads for the Home Kitchen

By Pascal Rigo, Paul Moore
Bay Books (CA) - 2003

Ugh, what went wrong! Came out heavy, dry and did not look AT ALL like the beautiful picture. Not enough sweetness (which was shocking considering the amount of caramel and honey used) or spice (even though I was very generous)!

useful (1)  


Ample Hills Creamery: Secrets and Stories from Brooklyn’s Favorite Ice Cream Shop

By Brian Smith, Jackie Cuscuna, Lauren Kaelin, Lauren Kaelin, Lucy Schaeffer
Stewart, Tabori and Chang - 2014

5th April 2017

The Elvis Inpersonator

I only made the Peanut Butter Swirl portion of this recipe. I ran out of heavy cream and had to sub 1/4 cup half and half and it came out great. Nice compliment to my banana pudding ice cream, with very good texture - smooth and doesn't get hard/icy once frozen.

useful (0)  


Apples for Jam: A Colorful Cookbook

By Tessa Kiros
Andrews McMeel Publishing - 2007

19th January 2012

Lemon Curd Ice Cream

This is wonderfully refreshing, tangy and creamy. If you like lemon curd you'll enjoy this! I used it as a layer of a triple layer ice cream cake, but was happy to have left overs.

useful (1)  


Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey, and Lebanon

By Claudia Roden
Knopf - 2006

Great dish! Cooked the eggplant directly on the coals of the grill, peeled and strained overnight. The pomegranate provides nice tang to the smoky eggplant. I have also made this in the oven or "burnt" the eggplant over a stove top flame - it's always wonderful.

useful (0)  


Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours

By Dorie Greenspan, Alan Richardson
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - 2010

A delicious buttery cookie with a slight crunch of salt here and there. These are fantastic! This makes one large cookie that guest break-up and take as big or as small a piece as they wish. The dough came together fast and rolled out easily. The important thing with this is to have a consistent thickness so the edges don't burn while the middle of the cookie stays too soft. Mine needed the full 40 minutes and came out with lovely brown edges (my favorite part) and a light golden flaky center.

useful (1)  


11th May 2013

Tomatoes Provencal

Simple but with big, bold flavor! Terrific even when tomatoes are not at their peak. I add a sprinkle of parmesan and chili flakes a few minutes before taking then out of the oven.

useful (2)  


19th September 2013

Cauliflower - Bacon Gratin

This is delicious! I used a small cauliflower and went with only 4 eggs, and a little less of everything else. Dorie calls it quiche like but I also found it reminiscent of a soufflé. Really lovely along side a steak or roast.

useful (1)  


Moist flavorful chicken with crispy skin and the special added bonus bread! This was terrific and is now my go to recipe. Let it rest as Dorie suggests - propped up, tail in the air, on a bowl to allow the juices to redistribute back into the breast meat.

useful (0)  


13th February 2014

Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise)

Finally got over my raw egg anxiety and whipped (and whipped and whipped) this up. I opted for the 5 or maybe 6 (?) cloves of garlic and an extra squirt of lemon. It did take mine a bit longer to come together (lots of whipping) but when it did it was divine!

useful (0)  


10th January 2017

Marie-Helene's Apple Cake

Apples with a little cake - I loved it. It was a lovely golden color with a very moist crumb - almost like bread pudding. I used a variety of apples and the flavor was wonderful.

useful (0)  


The Art of Simple Food: Notes, Lessons, and Recipes from a Delicious Revolution

By Alice Waters
Clarkson Potter - 2007

8th September 2011

Salsa Verde

This is a good, basic salsa verde. I added a bit of lemon juice and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. Nice with grilled eggplant (as recommended on page 304).

useful (0)  


1st July 2012

Ratatouille

This was really nice made with my farmers market veggies and a creamy polenta. I mixed in a little spicy sausage as well for a delicious main course. Also added some black olives and thyme.

useful (0)  


Excellent basic white beans. I used cannellini beans and they cooked in less than 2 hours (without presoaking). I have served this with meatballs and, as a side, with oven dried tomatoes.

useful (0)  


7th December 2019

Spicy Cauliflower Soup

Surprised I have never reviewed this one as it is a winter favorite! Sometimes I garnish it with just a squeeze of lemon or lime. I have also topped with a garlicy basil or cilantro pesto.

useful (0)  


Baked Elements: The Importance of Being Baked in 10 Favorite Ingredients

By Matt Lewis, Renato Poliafito, Tina Rupp
Stewart, Tabori and Chang - 2012

20th October 2020

Brown Butter Snickerdoodles

This a cinnamon forward, crispy edged, nugget of deliciousness! Unfortunately the brown butter flavor did not come thru enough, and texturally they were a tiny bit cake-y where I prefer a chewier interior. I still have some dough that I will bake for about 8 minutes to see if I can achieve the chewy cookie I crave.

useful (0)  


Baked: New Frontiers in Baking

By Matt Lewis, Renato Poliafito, Tina Rupp
Stewart, Tabori & Chang - 2008

13th September 2011

Chipotle Cheddar Biscuits

These were excellent! I went full tilt on the chipotle powder (1 Tablespoon) because I appreciate (and need) a little kick in the morning. I thought these were most delicious warm out of the oven drizzled with honey, but also very satisfying as part of a bacon and scrambled egg sandwich. I topped mine with smoked salt (rather than the kosher) but other than that followed the recipe to a "T". These would also be good alongside a bowl of chili or soup.

useful (2)  


Website: Baker By Nature

bakerbynature.com
 

21st October 2018 (edited: 18th November 2018)

Butter Pecan Cookies

These should be called BROWN Butter Pecan Cookies - because of the browned butter these really shine. I was worried they would spread due to the melted butter and after reading the reviews I was convinced a bit more flour would be necessary for the thick chewy cookie pictured on the blog. I added about 1/4 cup bread flour (trick I often borrow from Flour Bakery) and the cookies were rich,buttery, thick and delicious! I used Ashley's method for double scooping which created enormous cookies. Next batch I may just make heaping scoopfuls. Also I was running a bit short on butter so I toasted my pecans in a combination of butter and bacon fat.

useful (0)  


The Baker's Dozen Cookbook: Become a Better Baker with 135 Foolproof Recipes and Tried-and-True Techniques

By The Baker's Dozen
William Morrow Cookbooks - 2001

Really enjoyed these! This is a crisp cracker with a hint of spice that holds up well to toppings and dips. I love the ease of rolling the dough into one large rectangle, baking and then breaking into smaller pieces for a nice rustic look. I followed this recipe to a T, though I was worried about the oven temp (500) being too high for the thinly rolled dough so I kept a close eye on them.

useful (0)  


Baking for All Occasions

By Flo Braker
Chronicle Books - 2008

Really tasty for breakfast or dessert. The components of this recipe (the pastry and the filling) can both be made ahead and put together when your ready to eat. Lovely and not too sweet.

useful (0)  


Baking for Two: The Small-Batch Baking Cookbook for Sweet and Savory Treats

By Tracy Yabiku
Rockridge Press - 2016

15th February 2017 (edited: 16th February 2019)

Peanut Butter Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes

These were tasty - rich peanut butter flavor - but the chocolate chips didn't melt into the promised "molten chocolate" center. Surprise - Peanut Butter Chocolate chips Cupcakes it is then! This didn't deter anyone from gobbling them up with a strong cup of coffee. The frosting was delicious and easy to work with even though I did use Crazy Richard's Natural peanut butter. The author warns against using natural p.b. but that was all I had and it was perfect for both the cake and the frosting.
Next time I will use chopped chocolate chips over a half filled muffin cup and top with the remaining batter in hopes of a gooey chocolate center.

useful (0)  


10th July 2018

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Good basic cookie recipe. I skimped on the chocolate chips a little (it seemed like a lot). Allowing to rest in the fridge for 2 hours made for a nice chewy cookie with crisp edges.

useful (0)