Kestrel's Profile

Joined: September 21st, 2012


Latest review:

October 9th, 2021

Bara Brith muffins from 750 Best Muffin Recipes: Everything from breakfast classics to gluten-free, vegan and coffeehouse favorites

Really good, and basically Bara Brith in muffin form. I used oil instead of butter in mine. read more >


recipe reviews (156)
book reviews (3)
useful review votes (17)

Kestrel's Reviews


Search Reviews:

5 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 5Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

Canada's Best Bread Machine Baking Recipes

By Donna Washburn, Heather Butt
Robert Rose - 2008

4th December 2018 (edited: 17th November 2020)

Autumn pumpkin seed bread : page 114

Rose well and bread was nicely spiced. I used one medium sized sweet potato and made the larger sized loaf. I sometimes leave out the spices for a more savoury bread.

useful (0)  


27th January 2018

Carrot lovers poppy seed bread : page 32

This bread has excellent taste and texture, and is a great way to eat more carrots! I did have to add quite a bit more water to the dough (probably 1/4 cup more) and omitted the orange zest. This bread slices well.

useful (0)  


30th June 2019

Cottage cheese dill bread : page 33

Love this bread. It's a great way to use up leftover cottage cheese. I've made it as written (olive oil for the fat), and also done adaptations. Good with any herbs such as rosemary, Greek oregano, etc. Can add other soft cheeses in small amounts to make up the full amount of cottage cheese, and I've also replaced 1/4 cup of the flour with ground flax for a bit more fibre. Usually needs a few more tablespoons of flour. A light bread that rises well and is delicious.

useful (0)  


26th January 2018

Sourdough cornmeal bread : page 66

Excellent bread that uses one cup of sourdough starter. I added a bit more water to the recipe since my starter was a bit thicker than usual.

useful (0)  


9th June 2021

Whole wheat flax bread : page 129

This makes a very nice bread, but I do make several changes. I use ground flax for at least half the flax seed called for, and I use half white and half whole wheat flour. I also increase the yeast by 1/2 teaspoon to 1.5 teaspoons for the 1.5 lb loaf. This results in a grainy loaf, very good with soups etc.

useful (0)