Kestrel's Profile

Joined: September 21st, 2012


Latest review:

December 4th, 2018

Autumn pumpkin seed bread from Canada's Best Bread Machine Baking Recipes

Rose well and bread was nicely spiced. I used one medium sized sweet potato and made the larger sized loaf. read more >


recipe reviews (95)
book reviews (1)
useful review votes (13)

Kestrel's Reviews


Search Reviews:

95 recipes reviewed. Showing 1 to 50Sort by: Book Title | Date | Rating | Recipe Title

Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

25th October 2012

Double Broccoli Quinoa

Loved this! I don't usually make things with raw garlic, but this was a good use for it. Easy to make, and keeps well in the fridge. The leftovers made good lunches. Healthy too.

useful (0)  


The ACE Bakery Cookbook

By Linda Haynes, James Chatto
Whitecap Books - 2003

20th January 2018

Pumpkin lemongrass soup

This makes a very good nutritious soup. I enjoyed the light spicing and the lemony flavour. I used a light chicken stock instead of water (with water I found it too thin), and cut down quite a bit on the coconut milk. Also I made a half recipe as this makes a lot of soup.

useful (0)  


20th January 2018

Edamame hummus

We enjoyed this hummus type dip although I expanded on the basic recipe adding a fair amount of cilantro, some extra lemon juice, and several drops of hot sauce. I often make a variety of these dips (regular hummus, beet hummus, and sundried tomato dip), and serve them with my homemade crackers. As the author says, this freezes well.

useful (0)  


Website: Allotment Garden Recipes

www.allotment-garden.org/recipe
 

7th September 2017

Sweet beetroot Chutney

This makes a good chutney with the apple and raisins balancing out the beetroot and the ginger adding a spicy note. It's ok when first made, but I think it improves with a few days of aging.

useful (1)  


Website: America's Test Kitchen

www.americastestkitchen.com
 

This was on the program recently so I thought I would give it a try. A 3-4 lb chicken is butterflied and then placed in a hot pan and broiled. My chicken was almost 4 lbs so I went with the slightly longer cooking time. Even so, my chicken wasn't completely cooked and had to go back in for an additional 10 minutes. By this time the breast meat was slightly overcooked. If I make this again, I would add about 5 minutes to the stovetop time before putting it in the oven. On the plus side, the taste was good and I enjoyed the pan sauce/gravy with the addition of thyme and garlic.

useful (1)  


Website: America's Test Kitchen

www.americastestkitchen.com
 

17th April 2018

Pan seared salmon

This recipe was featured on a recent program and involves brining salmon fillets for 15 minutes and then starting them in a cold pan with salt and pepper on the bottom. I had bought some not so great salmon and decided to give this method a try. It really did seem to improve the taste and texture of the finished salmon. It's a bit too salty for me so I would reduce the salt next time. An interesting technique that's definitely worth a try.

useful (0)  


Anne Lindsay's Lighthearted Everyday Cooking: Fabulous Recipes for a Healthy Heart

By Anne Lindsay
John Wiley & Sons - 2004

This makes an excellent cake, (not too sweet) and is also an adaptable recipe. I bake in a tube pan for about 40 minutes and also use spelt flour for about half the flour called for. Small amounts of dried fruit and nuts can also be added if desired. A tbsp of rum makes it extra delicious. Have made both with and without the icing. Used butter instead of margarine.

useful (0)  


Artisan Sourdough Made Simple: A Beginner's Guide to Delicious Handcrafted Bread with Minimal Kneeding

By Emilie Raffa
Page Street Publishing - 2017

I make lots of crackers so I thought I’d give this sourdough version a try. The dough was way too dry after mixing so I had to add about 1/3 cup of water to bring it together. After resting the dough I rolled the crackers I. A seed mixture and baked as directed. The resulting crackers tasted good. Will probably make again with my adaptations.

useful (0)  


9th November 2018

Golden flax and spelt bread

My second recipe from this book, and again I had a major problem with the proportions. The recipe calls for 60 g of flaxseeds soaked for 45 minutes or so to be added to the dough. After soaking, the flax is so gelatinaous that it is impossible to drain, regardless of how much rinsing you do, so I added just a bit of it and used some other seeds instead. Even so, the dough needed a bit of extra flour to make it workable. I managed to get a nice loaf in the end, but I would not recommend this recipe to others. (I froze the extra soaked flaxseeds, and will be using them up for quite some time!)

useful (0)  


BBC Good Food
(August, 2009)

 

15th August 2018 (edited: 17th November 2018)

Raspberry Bakewell cake

I had a lot of blackberries from the garden and decided to make this cake and substitute them for the raspberries. The resulting cake was really good as it was not too sweet and had a subtle almond taste. I used all purpose flour plus 1 1/4 tsp baking powder plus a pinch salt for the self raising flour and baked at 325 F for about 45 minutes convection. Also, I mixed the batter in my stand mixer instead of using the food processor as stated in the recipe. I think this would also work with blueberries. The cake also froze well and tasted good reheated. This recipe can be found online at the BBC good food website.
Edited to add: made again with cherries, raspberries, blackberries all in the same cake. Liked all but raspberry is my favourite. Recipe available on bbc website.

useful (0)  


The Best Bread Machine Cookbook Ever: Ethnic Breads

By Madge Rosenberg
Harpercollins - 1994

6th September 2018

Ethiopian honey bread

A lovely bread that rises well in the bread machine. I have made this one many times and found it to be adaptable. The egg can be omitted and replaced with a little extra water. I usually use water instead of milk along with some dried milk powder. Fairly sweet due to the honey.

useful (0)  


A Bird in the Hand: Chicken recipes for every day and every mood

By Diana Henry
Mitchell Beazley - 2015

Really liked this dish. I used chicken thighs and made a smaller amount but otherwise followed the recipe. It took about 1.5 hrs from start to finish. I think this could be streamlined somewhat; for example, chicken goes in and cooks 15 minutes before the shallots then later the chicken comes out and onions cooked further...I think I will change that next time I try it, hopefully making it quicker with no loss of flavour. Love the addition of pears at the end, and the fact that it uses ingredients that I usually have in stock.

useful (0)  


A Bird in the Hand: Chicken Recipes for Every Day and Every Mood

By Diana Henry
Mitchell Beazley - 2015

Really liked this dish. I used chicken thighs and made a smaller amount but otherwise followed the recipe. It took about 1.5 hrs from start to finish. I think this could be streamlined somewhat; for example, chicken goes in and cooks 15 minutes before the shallots then later the chicken comes out and onions cooked further...I will change that next time I try it, hopefully making it quicker with no loss of flavour. Love the addition of pears at the end.

useful (1)  


A Bird in the Hand: Chicken recipes for every day and every mood

By Diana Henry
Mitchell Beazley - 2015

2nd May 2018

Chicken Forestiere

This recipe yielded a good chicken dish but I was surprised that it really wasn't all that flavourful. I adapted the instructions (made up to sauce as per recipe then cooked in the oven with chicken on the top) to avoid soggy skin, but otherwise followed the recipe. May try again with different mushrooms.

useful (0)  


This is a very nice salad. I found the flavour very mild and subtle (perhaps too subtle for some), and so I added some extra radishes to it. I didn't use the asparagus since my garden has stopped producing it and instead added some arugula from my friend's garden. Otherwise I followed the recipe. The headnote states that green snap beans or sugar snap peas can be substituted for the asparagus when it's out of season. I will definitely make this one again. Update: I've made this a few more times with snap beans as well as the radish and arugula. A really good salad.

useful (0)  


Bread Illustrated: A Step-By-Step Guide to Achieving Bakery-Quality Results At Home

By The Editors at America's Test Kitchen
America's Test Kitchen - 2016

Very good bread but with a few caveats. This is a high hydration bread (I calculated 79% hydration), and as such I found it a bit too wet and had to add extra flour. I'd say this is a recipe for bakers with some bread baking experience, since handling wet dough can be tricky. The resulting baked loaf tasted really good and had an excellent structure so I may make this one again. I loved the technique of soaking and grinding the whole wheatberries. This recipe is available online.

useful (0)  


Bread Machine Baking Revised

By Lora Brody, Millie Apter
William Morrow Cookbooks - 2011

20th January 2018

Sweet potato rye bread

This book is full of really good bread recipes and I've made many of them. All the breads can be baked in the oven rather than the machine.
This makes a very good bread. I used olive oil for the butter and soy milk powder since that's what I had. This makes a fairly small loaf so I make the larger recipe option.

useful (0)  


Bread Toast Crumbs: Recipes for No-Knead Loaves & Meals to Savor Every Slice

By Alexandra Stafford
Clarkson Potter - 2017

19th January 2018 (edited: 20th January 2018)

Anadama Bread

Unlike many others, I disliked this recipe. It was easy to put together, and the overall taste was fine, but I found the texture completely unappealing. As a result, I will not make this bread again.

useful (0)  


Website: Budget Bytes

budgetbytes.blogspot.com
 

This was very good and quick to make. I cooked my chicken a little longer since the pieces were quite large and made the pan sauce as written. The sauce was very nice. Served with some couscous and fresh veggies from the garden. This would make a good midweek dinner...tasty and fast.

useful (0)  


Canada's Best Bread Machine Baking Recipes

By Donna Washburn, Heather Butt
Robert Rose - 2008

26th January 2018

Sourdough cornmeal bread

Excellent bread that uses one cup of sourdough starter. I added a bit more water to the recipe since my starter was a bit thicker than usual.

useful (0)  


This bread has excellent taste and texture, and is a great way to eat more carrots! I did have to add quite a bit more water to the dough (probably 1/4 cup more) and omitted the orange zest. This bread slices well.

useful (0)  


4th December 2018

Autumn pumpkin seed bread

Rose well and bread was nicely spiced. I used one medium sized sweet potato and made the larger sized loaf.

useful (0)  


Website: Canadian Living

www.canadianliving.com
 

23rd January 2018

Cornmeal blueberry muffins

These were very good muffins. I liked the addition of cornmeal and whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat), and the fact that they weren't too sweet. the recipe calls for 2/3 cup of oil which I thought was too much for 12 muffins so I reduced to 1/3 cup and added some extra water. I also used less blueberries with good results. Baked 20 min st 450 convection.

useful (0)  


Website: Canadian Living

www.canadianliving.com
 

29th January 2018 (edited: 29th January 2018)

Power packed bean bread

This was a great way to use beans in an unexpected fashion. I used chick peas instead of the navy beans specified in the recipe. I liked that this recipe used whole wheat flour as well as white flour. I do feel that the calculation for the salt is off in this recipe since the bread was too salty even though my beans were home cooked without added salt. For anyone making this recipe keep this in mind especially if you are using canned beans. Other than that this bread was excellent, it rose well and had a nice crumb and crust. Baked in bread machine but would work as a conventional loaf too.

useful (0)  


Website: Chinese Grandma

chinesegrandma.com
 

30th June 2016

Balsamic Vinaigrette

My go to vinaigrette for green salads as well as grain salads. Easy to make, emulsifies well.

useful (0)  


Website: Clean eating veggie girl

cleaneatingveggiegirl.com/home
 

This is a very simple way to cook a sweet potato in the microwave, which I found as I was scouring the internet looking for a simple preparation for this nutritious vegetable. I don't usually go for anything with the "clean eating" label, a title I heartily dislike, however I'm glad I tried this one. I also had to buy paper towels specially for this...worth it though as it's something I will definitely repeat.

useful (0)  


Website: Cooking Light

www.cookinglight.com
 

Excellent recipe! Very easy and adaptable. Beans are delicious. Can use cooked dried beans in place of canned. I recommend this highly!

useful (0)  


Website: Cooking Light

www.cookinglight.com
 

4th September 2017

Blueberry streusel bars

Loved these bars. Sweet enough without being too sweet. I subbed a combination of spelt, rice flour, all purpose and sorghum flour for the whole wheat pastry flour, and lime juice for lemon juice. Baked at 350 convection for 35 minutes and they were done perfectly.

useful (0)  


Cooks Garden 135 Recipes/Expert Growing Advice

By Canadian Gardening Magazine
McArthur & Co - 2003

15th July 2017 (edited: 17th July 2017)

Green and yellow beans with sesame seed sauce

This recipe is great! I love the sauce used on the green beans and use it with all sorts of vegetables, from cucumber and carrots to snow peas and sugar snap peas from the garden. It also goes well with tofu, and makes a good dip for summer rolls. I thin it out a bit for dipping and usually serve in small bowls. It's also adaptable and takes well to additions or substitutions. Very simple to make. (I use tahini instead of grinding my own sesame seeds)

useful (1)  


Cool Green Leaves & Red Hot Peppers: A Guide to Cooking With Fresh Vegetables

By Michael Michaud, Christine McFadden, James Merrell, James Merrell
Adams Media Corporation - 1999

A nice way to use chard stems if you have them left over. The stems are lightly cooked and then combined with avocado, salad leaves, olives, and parsley. The salad is dressed with a simple lemon juice and olive oil dressing. This makes a nice accompaniment to most meats and would also be a good lunchtime salad.

useful (0)  


Website: David Lebovitz

www.davidlebovitz.com
 

10th February 2018 (edited: 12th February 2018)

Seeded Multigrain Crackers

I make lots of crackers and these were pretty good and very easy. I liked the fact that they were covered in seeds; I used sesame, flax, and poppy seeds with a few fennel and caraway added in. I found I had too much of the seed mixture. I'm not sure if these are better than my regular crackers, but I probably will repeat them. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes convection. Update: the next day they tasted even better as the taste of the various seeds came through more strongly.

useful (0)  


Delia's Vegetarian Collection

By Delia Smith, Victoria Wood
BBC Books - 2002

Excellent and easy. Makes a good lunch or brunch dish and kids tend to really like it. One of my all time favourite dishes for company. I usually add a tiny bit of liquid to the goat cheese to make it more spreadable, and sometimes I omit or reduce the garlic, but otherwise make it as written.

useful (0)  


Dinner in an Instant: 75 Modern Recipes for Your Pressure Cooker, Multicooker, and Instant Pot®

By Melissa Clark
Clarkson Potter - 2017

A pretty good soup that was ready in just over an hour. I did omit the kombu as stated in the headnote. I found the final soup tasted good with just a hint of the ginger and spices coming through, so in future I will probably increase the ginger. Also, the soup was quite salty (even with low salt stock), so next time I would probably decrease the stock a bit and increase the water.

useful (0)  


Website: Epicurious

www.epicurious.com
 

29th January 2018

Spiced roast chicken breast

This worked quite well. My chicken breasts were quite large with bone in and I think this would work better with smaller pieces deboned (recipe didn't specify). Overall the taste was good, and I think it's worth trying again with smaller cuts to get the timing right. I will update this note when I do.

useful (1)  


Everyday Whole Grains: 175 New Recipes from Amaranth to Wild Rice, Includes Every Ancient Grain

By Ann Taylor Pittman, Hugh Acheson
Oxmoor House - 2016

3rd September 2017 (edited: 24th March 2018)

Blueberry streusel bars

Loved these bars. Sweet enough without being too sweet. I subbed a combination of spelt, rice flour, all purpose and sorghum flour for the whole wheat pastry flour, and lime juice for lemon juice. Baked at 350 convection for 35 minutes and they were done perfectly. This recipe is available on the cooking light website http://www.cookinglight.com/recipes/blueberry-streusel-bars

useful (0)  


4th February 2018

Crunchy zucchini chips

The taste was good but the texture just didn't work for me. I also had trouble getting the mixture to stick to the zucchini. Pretty fiddly so I probably won't make again.

useful (0)  


Brown sugar and honey are used to make a caramel, then popped grain and sesame seeds are added. I used popped quinoa since that's what I had. A very easy homemade candy, you just have to watch that the caramel doesn't get too dark. It is very difficult to spread out (and it's hot, of course) and I wasn't able to cut it into bars. Broken into irregular pieces it's good to eat as is or to add to the top of other desserts.

useful (0)  


Fast, Fresh & Green

By Susie Middleton
Chronicle Books - 2010

This came together easily and was delicious with the dipping sauce. I didn't make the garlic butter this time. Cooking time was about 16 minutes 450 convection.

useful (0)  


23rd January 2018 (edited: 23rd January 2018)

Stir-fried carrots with ginger, lime, and cilantro

Excellent stir fry that I make often. Very easy.
Note: I have the kindle book so I don't know the page number.

useful (0)  


Website: Fine Cooking

www.finecooking.com
 

I've made these rolls many times with various dipping sauces over the years. This is the recipe that started me, and I've made countless variations since then; with or without noodles, with different herbs, vegetarian or not. The rolls can be made ahead, covered with plastic wrap, and stored in the fridge if needed for a few hours. There are several other variations on the Fine Cooking website or you can just make up your own. Excellent recipe!

useful (0)  


Flatbreads & Flavors: A Baker's Atlas

By Jeffrey Alford, Naomi Duguid
William Morrow Cookbooks - 2008

25th August 2018

Lentil and Sultana Salad

This has become a family favourite. We sometimes sub dried cranberries for the sultanas.

useful (0)  


Flour, Too: Indispensable Recipes for the Cafe's Most Loved Sweets & Savories

By Joanne Chang, Michael Harlan Turkell
Chronicle Books - 2013

5th February 2015 (edited: 15th January 2018)

Chipotle Chicken and Black Bean Soup

Really good soup, easy to make and tasty.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

A really simple skillet recipe that takes about half an hour to make. Results are excellent. The only change I make is to use regular decent quality supermarket balsamic vinegar. Great with grain salads for a nutritious supper.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

A good tasting and very moist cake. You have to boil the oranges for a couple of hours so start early. The result is a dense almost brownie like cake with a different texture than I'm used to. Best on the first day. After that it developed a bit of an oily texture. Would be good for those eating gluten free.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

28th February 2017 (edited: 28th February 2017)

Blender quiche

This is a great recipe. See the comments on the web page for many adaptations of this recipe. I use a good quality cheddar, and make my own baking mix for this. Also can use lower fat milk if you wish. Excellent to use smaller amounts of garden veggies.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

17th July 2017

Socca

A really good recipe for socca, one of my lunch time favourites, especially in the winter. I make half the recipe in a smaller cast iron skillet. Preheating the skillet is key as is letting the batter rest to fully absorb the water.

useful (1)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

27th July 2017

Peanut sauce

Such an easy sauce using primarily pantry staples. I omit garlic and I often use powdered ginger. I also use black rice vinegar. It's versatile and adaptable. Takes 10 minutes to make, if that.

useful (1)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

25th January 2018

No knead sourdough bread

A great bread recipe. Works every time and tastes great. This bread has a very crispy crust and a soft interior with large holes.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

This was excellent. I changed the method slightly, cooking it on the stove top completely as this takes much less time. I also used mushroom stock cubes since I had no chicken stock on hand. The flavour is wonderful; I added a little hot sauce to increase the spice. Made a great dinner and I will definitely make this again.

useful (0)  


Website: Food.com

www.food.com
 

4th July 2018 (edited: 4th July 2018)

Poached Chicken

Good basic way to cook chicken for salads etc. I cut my large chicken breasts in half lengthwise since they were very large and added some salt to the liquids. Resulting stock was flavourful.

useful (0)