kaye16's Profile

Joined: December 21st, 2009


Latest review:

November 11th, 2019

Rice with Black Pepper Sauce from The Savory Way

Very tasty, comfort food. Quick. - I didn't use mortar&pestle for the herbs, just chop-chop-chop. Gave the pepper corns (all 2tsps) a spin in the spice grinder. - I used about half mozzarella and... read more >


recipe reviews (1331)
book reviews (58)
useful review votes (309)

kaye16's Reviews


Search Reviews:

8 recipe(s) reviewed. Showing 1 to 8Sort by: Title | Date | Rating

The 30-minute Cook

By Nigel Slater
Penguin Books Ltd - 2006

22nd April 2014

Carrots with Mustard Seeds : page 47

Slater says this is a hot version of Madhur Jaffrey's Gujerati Carrot Salad. Personally I think Jaffery's version is better, and I'm not sure why a hot version is needed.

Slater has you frying thickly sliced carrots for 10-15min till they are tender. Maybe my "thick" was too thick, but they weren't really thinking of being finished after 15min, so I added a bit of water and cooked covered for a while, then cooked a bit more to get rid of the water before adding the mustard seeds.

Good enough, but I'd rather have Jaffrey's cold salad. Less work and it's quickly done.

useful (0)  


20th April 2014

Herbed Salmon with Garlic Cream Sauce : page 118

Very good and very easy. Chop up some herbs and press into strips of salmon. Sauté till this fish is almost ready, stir in something creamy (crème fraîche, cream, etc.), add a squeeze of lemon and bob's your uncle, as they say.

useful (0)  


13th September 2014

Hot Aubergine and Cheese Sandwiches : page 35

Interesting and versatile recipe. A vegetarian main, although it could easily accommodate meat.

I used some blue cheese with the mozzarella. Although the mozza melts nice and stringy, we both liked the taste of the blue with the eggplant, so might skip the mozzarella next time.

We thought a thin slice of tomato or maybe roasted red bell pepper might be nice. A thin slice of a dried ham might be good.

Next time I might skip the flour and just wipe a bit of oil on the eggplant and cook the sandwiches on a grill pan, rather than frying them.

Good as made, and lots of ideas go on with.

useful (0)  


20th April 2014

Lamb Hash : page 179

A really nice and easy way to use up odds and ends or leftover cooked lamb. Seasoned with nothing but salt and pepper -- delicious!

useful (0)  


20th April 2014 (edited: 1st May 2016)

Lamb in a Spiced Gravy : page 179

Use up cooked lamb slices in an Indian-ish creamy tomato sauce. Not really sure why the lamb needs to be slices, shreds or chunks would work just as well. There was lots and lots of sauce (I've frozen extra to use for something). Good stuff though.

1may16: Made this again with less water/stock and less meat. This was fine. Very good.

useful (0)  


12th September 2014

Red Lentils with Turmeric and Mustard Seeds : page 232

Pretty tasty. Easy. Fast.

Recipe says it serves 2. Of course, when it asks for a pound of lentils, you have to wonder about that. I expect we'll get two meals for two out of this, served over rice.

I expect the final simmering should be covered, at least partly. My lentils were pretty dry when done.

The dish wanted lots of salt (I added only a bit) but some nice lime pickle easy took care of that.

useful (0)  


22nd April 2014

Spiced Fried FIsh : page 120

Very nice. Fish strips tossed with lime, spices, and besan, then deep fried. Yum.

I used swordfish, which was on sale today. Was a nice choice since it's a firm fish.

Definitely a do-again.

useful (0)  


29th December 2015 (edited: 1st January 2016)

Thai Chicken Salad : page 98

A main dish for two. Quite tasty, easy, and fast.

- I thought this was a trifle salty; Ed thought it was almost uneatably salty. This is odd, since he's usually the one adding salt at the table. There was too much sauce, so it might to do reduce the soy and fish sauces a bit.

- I used aiguillettes of duck, the small narrow muscle behind the breast proper, from the freezer, no skin involved. Worked fine. The somewhat stronger taste of duck compared to chicken breast is probably better.

- Oops, no carrots in the house! I peeled some broccoli stems for the crunch. They worked fine, but we missed the color.

- It's December and there's mint growing outside. Wonder if we'll have winter this year.

All in all, we liked this even though it was salty. A satisfying meal.

useful (1)