tignor's Profile

Joined: July 23rd, 2012


Latest review:

September 26th, 2020

Sauteed Fennel with Quick Tomato Sauce and Parmesan from PASTA E VERDURA

This was excellent. We love fennel - and it was SO fresh and delicious. We made this with orzo because that was the closest to the pasta called for (fusilli or other short, curly types) that I had on hand.... read more >


recipe reviews (42)
book reviews (0)
useful review votes (11)

tignor's Reviews


Search Reviews:

42 recipes reviewed. Showing 1 to 42Sort by: Book Title | Date | Rating | Recipe Title

101 Things to Do with Mac & Cheese

By Toni Patrick
Gibbs Smith - 2007

19th December 2014

Curried Macaroni

I found two boxes of mac and cheese in my cabinet I needed to use. I made two recipes in this book based on what ingredients I had or what I knew, if I bought, would be used. This took a LONG time to make and great day, so freaking cheesy. I love me some cheese, but this was day glow orange and extremely rich once I was done with it. Very hard to eat all of it. I shudder to think what the nutritional information would be if I had it.

That said, hardly any curry taste. Not a winner.

useful (1)  


21st December 2014

Spicy Mac and Cheese

Two recipes tried out of this book, one (Curried Macaroni, reviewed a few days ago) not enough flavor and this one BAM right in your face. Too much. Too spicy! And I used freaking Mild Chili seasoning! Nearly impossible to finish, cleared out our sinuses, gets a frowny face from us though.

Wondering if there is a good recipe in this book?

useful (0)  


660 Curries

By Raghavan Iyer
Workman Publishing - 2008

The recipe says "A quick glance at the ingredients here might make you wonder if the chilies and garlic are overpowering. However, a mouthful of this curry will squelch that initial doubt." We made this with reconstituted coconut and serrano chilies. This was too hot for us, and I can take some heat! We've decided to half or at least use less chilies than called for, or even use jalapenos instead of serranos (which is the only of the 3 they usually list - serrano, red Thai, cayenne - that I can redily find in my city) to reduce the heat. It took several minutes for our lips and mouths to stop tingling.

The recipe was ok, and we liked it, but won't make it again. I have some other favorites in this book and keep returning to it.

useful (3)  


Our favorite recipe in this entire book. We make this a few times monthly, using 1 serrano pepper and leaving out the cilantro and lime juice. It's so fast, yummy as hell, and really filling. We serve with ready-to-eat rice from MTE or Kohinar and naan. Delicious.

useful (1)  


Well, this didn't work. First, the owner of the Indian grocery where I went told me that nigella seeds were black sesame seeds (they aren't) and that I could use white sesame seeds in their place (you can, but since nigella seeds are different it didn't work). This grocery also didn't sell whole peas, only split, and he said you could easily substitute. Split are quick cooking and won't give the same texture as called for in the recipe, plus the cooking method is different. I cooked them as called for in Pigeon Peas with Chiles and Jaggery on page 426, and went with this recipe to finish. It ended up being a starchy, pasty mess with hardly any flavor.

I know messing with recipes shouldn't be reviewed, but I had no choice since I went off the advice of a well-meaning man who didn't speak much English, but if you are going to make this know that even though I did change one tiny spice and a different way of cooking the peas, it probably will taste very similar, which is not at all.

useful (1)  


I really wanted to like this but all there was was HEAT. Very spicy, flavors didn't really melt. Better the second day and with more salt, but I should have known better than to use 4 Serrano chilies. I usually cut them down by half at least in recipes I've tried before from this book, but I was trying to use everything the recipe called for since this was my first attempt at this recipe. I don't think I'll make it again.

Got the hardest, greenest Mango I could find. It was ripe and not unripe. Not sure if this would affect the taste. Also used 1 tsp. ground cardamom instead of the 6 pods as I can't find them in my small city.

useful (0)  


YUM! This made an excellent side, nice flavor, would make again. Used yellow summer squash for eggplant (book recommends this as a substitute) because it only calls for half a pound and the eggplants were freaking huge at the store. Nice heat and not spicy for the sake of being spicy. Served with naan, basmati rice and pork (I know, I'm not Hindu though!) with bottled Rogan Josh sauce.

useful (0)  


hmmm. Well, this was an idea. Not terribly flavorful but I will admit that I used McCormick Madras Curry Powder instead of the recipe in the book. I even used the hot kind -- and still, just corn and tomatos. It was ok. Served with my beloved chickpeas (page 331 and the best recipe in the entire book) and basmati rice, along with Naan.

useful (0)  


After Work Cook Book

By Better Homes and Gardens
- 1977

18th November 2013

Parsley-Onion Bread

This was easy as pie, just some butter and parsley and minced onion slathered onto bread slices and thrown into the broiler. Hubby LOVED it and we've made it over and over.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(October, 1998)

 

14th May 2014 (edited: 14th May 2014)

Monte Cristo Delights

Super easy and I was somewhat surprised it worked, even though the picture said it would. Now, I used Heart Smart Bisquick and almond milk instead of milk, because I am an idiot and forgot to buy milk. Result was a little thinner on the bread, but it was tasty. I also used cranberry sauce, which you can hardly taste, instead of the preserves and was suggested as a variation. Very satisfying. Served with baby carrots and some Boulder Sea Salt and Black Pepper potato chips (the best chips, ever, hands down. I am not a potato chip person!). Will make this again. It gets a smiley face.

I did not use powdered sugar on top.

Recipe is online: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/monte-cristo-delights/9d23a07d-959a-4aa7-8960-e650c8167ea6

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(January, 1998)

 

10th September 2014

Fresh Fruit Medley

Very simple recipe of fresh fruit tossed with Cool Whip and lemon peel. Would never have thought to do so. My nectarines weren't ripe enough. The pineapple was marvelous and I often find it too sweet (probably because most of it is canned). Needs another orange, I think. The proportions are off, but it was a fresh and healthier alternative to ice cream for dessert.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(Aug/Sep, 1997)

 

22nd September 2014

Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

Satisfying and comforting, plus very easy to make, this recipe is a winner! Good for the winter months. One 8 ounce package of diced ham was a perfect 1 1/2 cups. I used regular potatoes from a 5lb bag.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(May, 1996)

 

Trying to incorporate fish more into our diet, I made this. The salsa was quite tasty, but there is no such thing as a large papaya that will yield 2 cups papaya. The smallest one I could find gave me 6 cups easy. We were eating papaya for days.

As for the recipe...meh. It didn't have much flavor, and I had to substitute mahi mahi as swordfish is not sustainable nor available in my area. I don't think I'll make again.

useful (0)  


My package of chicken had 12 drumsticks and, knowing most recipes like this will yield way more sauce than chicken, I just shoved all 12 in the pan (recipe calls for 8). Perhaps, a mistake, as the chicken was only lightly flavored. I don't know if more sauce would have "seeped into" the drumsticks, but the recipe was simple enough. May try again.

Definitely not the "tandoori chicken" you get at restaurants, no no no, though.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(August, 1996)

 

Dear LORD this was delicious! It was quick, simple, not a lot of chopping and super out of this world and we will be making again, doubling the ingredients (portion sizes super small)...this is the kind of recipe that keeps recipe fanatics going. Gems like this! Worth hunting down this book on ebay or something.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(October, 1998)

 

4th August 2020 (edited: 6th August 2020)

Blueberry Banana Bread

Amazing. I make this A to Z Bread and this one rose higher PLUS didn't have any added oil. I think I can use this base recipe and add 2 cups of A to Z ingredients (apples to Zucchini) and get results. In fact, I have 1 banana left over so I'll probably do this again just to see, but using applesauce to supplement the banana and cranberries for blue. So soft and fluffy and really, really good.

Editing: After eating the loaf, I realized this needs cinnamon, so I'll add that next time. I'll leave it at it's 5* rating. Recipe can be found here also: https://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/blueberry-banana-bread/96c37e01-6aad-42a5-9907-2117e388209b

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(May, 1995)

 

Had to choke this down and force myself to eat it all - it made SO much (and I used Pearl couscous, so maybe that was the culprit). Not very flavorful, either.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(October, 1998)

 

17th September 2020

Cinnamon Raisin Scone Sticks

Also just ok - more like an American biscuit than a scone. I had to eat them all myself because my husband is trying to clean out the fridge.

useful (0)  


Betty Crocker
(October, 1997)

 

17th September 2020

Beef Stroganoff Casserole

This is a definite "make again." All the flavors of Beef Stroganoff and with a crust instead of noodles. 6 servings is VERY small, so we ate this in 4.

useful (0)  


Biggest Book of 30-Minute Meals (Better Homes & Gardens Cooking)

By Better Homes & Gardens
Better Homes and Gardens - 2005

This was a very pleasant surprise. We had a cabbage we needed to do something with, and Thanksgiving was upon us, so I found this recipe and only had to buy the two tangerines and red onion, and since I had to use them all went ahead and added this to the sides table. It was not bitter at ALL, like I expected, and was a nice side to balance everything out. In fact, if you hate cabbage, you may be surprised that you're eating it if you don't know. It's got a nice flavor, more tangerine-y that cabbage-y.

Not sure I'd seek it out again unless I had a red cabbage I needed to use, but it was good. It used up half of my red cabbage so I'll probably make it again. Very tasty.

useful (0)  


5th December 2013

Spicy Turkey & Beans

Great to use up that last of the T-give turkey! Easy to prepare, better the day after (isn't that always the way with chili?) and hearty. We made it 4 instead of 6 portions, thinking it would be too small, but this was very filling and 6 would have been fine, especially with a salad. Tasty. Would make again.

useful (0)  


21st December 2013

Easy Shepherd's Pie

I loved this! Saucy, hearty, flavorful, comforting. I made the potatoes in 8 mounds instead of 6 and reduced the servings to 4 instead of 6 because they seemed really small -- so tasty and calories are 452 this way (Dear Cookbook Companies: Enough of this 6 servings jazz. Too hard to split up!). We used Buffalo instead of ground beef because it was on sale at half price and it was just wonderful. The vegetables I used were left over from a party at our house and the veggie trays abounded. I just weighed out 10 ounces and used them instead of the frozen mixed.

This is quickly becoming my favorite cookbook.

useful (0)  


Quite delicious, made because we had some bacon already cooked and penne in the cupboard. The frozen chicken breast in my store comes in 22oz packages, so we have enough of it (and the cilantro, and the French dressing) to make this again, and we will. This gets a smiley face in my book (I have four that I use to rate my recipes -- frowny face, frowny face with "ok" written beside it, smiley face, and smiley face with a tongue sticking out to indicate it was delicious) and it was super easy and tasty.

useful (0)  


Biggest Book of Casseroles (Better Homes & Gardens)

By Better Homes and Gardens, Tricia Laning
Better Homes and Gardens - 2005

Ah. Mac & Cheese. Easy to screw up, though.

This recipe says you could make it with ham or chicken. I made this solely because I had 8 ounces of chicken and some cottage cheese that needed using, and the chicken was tasteless and kind of rubbery.

As for the remainder of the recipe, it could really benefit from some ham. I liked the bread crumb topping. Perhaps even sausage would liven it up a bit. Not a bad recipe, and since I only used it because I needed to use up ingredients, ok there I suppose.

useful (0)  


8th December 2015

Nacho Turkey Casserole

Tired of turkey sandwiches, I used the last 4 cups in this casserole. Something weird about putting salsa on turkey, though, and the flavors just didn't work. I don't think it was because I was sick of turkey, but the casserole will not be made again in this household. As it was edible, though, I give it 2 stars.

useful (1)  


23rd December 2017

Hamburger Pie

Boring and needed more flavor, but easy to prepare even if I did have to peel and boil potatoes. Still, doesn't get a mark to make again.

I find these recipes in this book to be on the boring, bland side. I LOVE a good, comforting casserole but these seem to be more hit than miss!

useful (0)  


26th December 2017

Ham-Sauerkraut Casserole

This was HIDEOUS and disgusting. Edible the first night, but barely. Couldn't stand to eat the leftovers.

useful (0)  


Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes, Vol. 2 (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking)

By Better Homes and Gardens
Meredith Books - 2006

3rd November 2014

Cheesy Potato Soup

So disappointed in this flavorless (which is amazing, considering how much cheese is in it!) soup! A customer gave my husband a huge bag of potatoes and this recipe was choosen solely because I went down the index (the first column of three for potatoes) and it used the most.

Easy to make, sure, but hardly any flavor! Will add more salt and pepper and maybe some green Tabasco to tomorrows, since it made 5 lunchtime containers!

useful (0)  


6th November 2017

Vegetable Curry

Needs salt! In my effort to slow cook more, I've gone through this book (love this series) and choose this recipe but man...is it bland! Can't figure out why. But, with salt, it becomes...ok. Served with rice made in my rice cooker (another great invention). Is very pretty, too.

useful (0)  


The Brand Name Book of Baking

By E.J. Armstrong, Oxmoor House, Mary Engelbreit, Sandy Lynam Clough, Earl Herche, Tina K. Forster, William Pell, Aldo Tutino, Betty Pell, Olive Debolt, Peter Barry, Hedi Levine, George G., Jr. Wieser
Smithmark Publishers - 1997

22nd March 2014

Fruit Swirl Coffeecake

Holy Moly this was DELICIOUS!

Very rarely do recipes look like the picture and this one did. The only differences I did was I only had 3/4 confectioner's sugar instead of the 1 cup the recipe suggests, so I just mixed it with water (not milk as the recipe suggested) until it was a glaze, and I used strawberry pie filling (recipe is specific to apricot, cherry or blueberry). The glaze was perfect, you don't need more.

Super delicious and easy!!! This beats anything you can get prepackaged and is restaurant worthy. This one is a new family favorite and we forsee making this one over and over.

useful (0)  


The Convenience Cook: 125 Best Recipes for Easy Homemade Meals Using Time-Saving Foods from Boxes, Bottles, Cans and More

By Judith Finlayson
Robert Rose - 2003

Burned the HECK out of my hand because, while I used a hot pat to pull the ovenproof skillet out of the oven -- I then grabbed a plate and FORGOT the darn thing was hot.

In my efforts to cook the book, I choose this recipe at random. I make omelets on the fly better -- the eggs had no water or milk in them (but I did add the optional hot sauce) and it's cooking method was more frittata than omelet. I found it rubbery, and the potatoes didn't crisp up as promised. It was ok, but not worth making again.

useful (0)  


Gold Medal
(January, 2000)

 

26th March 2016

Pepperoni Pizza Bread

I've made this before, and remember my ex-husband and I devouring this whole from the bread machine. Some 20 years ago, I bet. Looking in the fridge yesterday, I found a handful of pepperoni and remembered this recipe. It took a while to find the cookbook it was in, which I knew was in a bread machine cookbook so I could whittle it down some. The cookbook, a grocery store aisle digest, wasn't in Cookbooker and didn't have a month and year so I made it up. Hopefully if someone else comes up with this in their hand, they'll find it here.

What I remember didn't give me the same results -- the slices of pepperoni whole and baked in (thrown in at the raisin beef), but it could have been my machine, or the softness of the slices...and I just now hacked off the ends and threw them in the toaster and slathered it with Olivio...good, just not what I remember. The crust was too dark (I have a setting on my machine that I can choose and I forgot, bet it was set on "dark"), but the inside is all nice and soft. I'll make grilled cheeses for lunch tomorrow. I'll bet they're marvy.

useful (0)  


Hamburger Magic Cookbook

By Editors of Favorite Brand Name Recipes
Publications International, Ltd. - 2001

I have recently fallen in love with Mexican-style food. I know this is not "true" Mexican, but any recipe that is easy that includes purchased salsa as an ingredient is a "must try" these days, and I'm also learning that different salsas will produce different results.

I made this one with Pace Restaurant Style Salsa, Texas Style White Bean. I found it at Big Lots and, while certainly in date, is not showing up on their website so I believe it has been discontinued. You may still order it online through Wal-Mart and Amazon.

For the recipe, it was easy and quick, and very good -- even if the tortillas became a bit spongy towards the middle as they normally do in a baked casserole with sauces...I would try this again. And...it was pretty with all it's layers, though I believe my casserole dish was too small.

useful (0)  


5th December 2015

Spicy Quick and Easy Chili

This was ok. Rather spicy, but I used Herdez Cesara Medium Salsa. It was good and went together in a snap, but I honestly don't see myself making it again. For ease of getting dinner on the table fast, though, I would recommend to someone if they were looking for such a thing. I think my husband liked it better than I did. Served with cornbread.

useful (0)  


The Musical Theatre Cookbook: Recipes from Best-Loved Musicals

By Mollie Ann Meserve, Walter J. Meserve
Feedback Theatre Books - 1994

These were ok. Definitely not "The best darn corn muffins I ever ate." They were more "bready" than "cornmealy" and that's sad. The Best Darn Corn Muffins I Ever Ate were those at Kenny Roger's Roasters, which are sadly gone from this country (mine was a Tuesday Morning and is now a Mission Barbecue) and I miss them SO much. I keep trying corn muffins hoping someday to spark upon something similar. These called for 1/2 cup whole wheat flour - I mean, who does that? - but I tried them out. Not a repeat make, although in all manner of things, edible and just fine, I suppose.

useful (0)  


The Olive and the Caper: Adventures in Greek Cooking

By Susanna Hoffman
Workman Publishing Company - 2004

6th February 2013 (edited: 6th February 2013)

Sesame Cake with Sesame Icing

Taste was interesting, clove-y. Texture though, was something I've only experienced when you pull a cake out of the oven and you think it's done all the way through only to find it half-baked in the middle. It didn't feel like this before I added the immense amount of glaze, though, as it was baked through. Won't make again, just because it's unpleasant to eat this way. But, live and learn.

useful (0)  


PASTA E VERDURA

By Jack Bishop
William Morrow Cookbooks - 1996

This was better than I expected but I don't think I'll make this again. This was the first recipe I tried out of this book and it encourages me to try another, however. Taste was a bit bland - even with 6 cloves of garlic and red pepper flakes

useful (0)  


This was excellent. We love fennel - and it was SO fresh and delicious. We made this with orzo because that was the closest to the pasta called for (fusilli or other short, curly types) that I had on hand. Will make again.

Recipe called for 2 small bulbs about 1 1/2 pounds. Like many things, fennel has gotten larger over the years. One bulb at Kroger was a little over a pound. We just bought one and I don't think it sacrificed any taste or pleasure.

Recipe called for 2 cups drained canned whole tomatoes. One 14.5 ounce can was perfect, no measuring needed.

This cookbook is wonderful, and I'll be going to it more and more that we are eating less and less meat.

useful (0)  


Quick & Easy

By
Paragon Publishing - 2000

3rd January 2015

Creamy Tomato Soup

Why such the tiny typeface, SuperCookery? Great day, can barely read it even with 3.00 reading glasses on! I had to squint and I'm not blind!

Now, the recipe. Ok. Fresh tasting, yes, but those almonds in there...WTF? The texture just weird. I did use dried basil flakes (1 tsp.) for the 2 T fresh slivered basil because I am not buying fresh basil for a few tablespoons. Recipe was easy enough to make, beyond my squinting at miniscule font (I'm guessing it's Times New Roman in 8 points, which is crazy), but I don't think I'll make this again.

I did use whole milk for the cream (it said you could use either but I'm in the states and you can't find light cream here), as well, and my Roma tomatoes I'm sure were not sunripened...kind of bland.

useful (0)  


Southern Living 2005 Annual Recipes: Every 2005 recipe -- Over 900!

By Editors of Southern Living Magazine
Oxmoor House - 2005

12th August 2012

Mango Upside-Down Cake

Sticky and sweet, cake is a bit too spongy but gets better as you eat it. Recommend not making this in a 9-inch pie pan (I didn't have a cake pan) as it overflowed.

useful (4)  


Southern Living Annual Recipes 1979

By Oxmoor House, Inc.
Oxmoor House, Inc. - 1979

25th September 2020

Surprise Date muffins

These were good, maybe not make again though. Very small, figured out calorie count to be 163 per. Could use more flavor - and I used cinnamon graham crackers too! But, a nice change for breaky.

useful (0)  


A World of Pasta

By Maria Scott, Jack Scott
BBS Publishing Corporation - 1996

Bland and kinda boring. I had all the ingredients on hand, aside from "riccini" which I googled and found all kinds of pasta shapes so I just use rotini, which was one of the shapes that came up and I had. The pasta baked very crunchy on top due to being exposed to the heat. Made 6 servings and by the 3rd night (there are 2 of us) we were kinda sick of it. I'm sure this book has many wonderful recipes in it but this was meh.

useful (0)