Queezle_Sister's Profile

From: Salt Lake City, UT USA

Joined: March 29th, 2010

About me: I enjoy cooking, and my favorite internet community is the one here at cookbooker. The probable demise of cookbooker is very sad to me. I understand Andrew's need to move on with his life, but I wish this venue could somehow be preserved.

Favorite cookbook: Savory Way

Favorite recipe: roasted anything (most recently grapes)


Latest review:

June 18th, 2018

Rhubarb Crumble from Simply Recipes

Super easy (the 10 minute prep time is correct!), and the addition of cardamom was brilliant! Served with vanilla ice cream. I don't care for crumbles as much as crisps, but needed a quick dessert.... read more >


recipe reviews (1401)
book reviews (39)
useful review votes (957)

Queezle_Sister's Reviews


Search Reviews:

1399 recipes reviewed. Showing 1 to 50Sort by: Book Title | Date | Rating | Recipe Title

Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

This was a very edible brussel sprout dish. I liked the sweet tart apples along with the brussel sprout and nutty pine nuts, but somehow the flavors didn't come together for me. Next time I will, instead, go back to a tried and true oven roasted brussels.

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

18th February 2011

Homemade Yogurt Recipe

We go through a lot of yogurt, and I've been wanting to reduce my plastic consumption. My first attempt led to a slimy failure, but my second attempt produced some of the best yogurt ever!

What did I change? I used 2% instead of skim, I heated the milk to 190F rather than 170, and I used a better incubation method. This second time, I made a water bath in a small cooler, and I let it incubate a fairly long time (8 hours). Oh, and I also snuck in about 1T sugar (suggested on a different web site).

If I can make yogurt like this consistently, goodbye plastic tubs!

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

26th March 2011

Breakfast Polenta

Polenta is my newest breakfast love.
This is a typical recipe - and I modified it to make it more breakfast friendly by replacing 2/3 of the water with fat free milk.

The recipe also recommends adding nuts and dried fruit. I toasted some roughtly cut raw almonds (400˚F for about 10 minutes), and added them, along with a handful of currents, and a tiny bit of brown sugar. It was heavenly.

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

6th April 2011 (edited: 12th April 2011)

Carmelized Tofu

This lived up to its promise of being quick (about 20 minutes start to finish) and delicious.
The first time I made this, the initial browning of the tofu took me twice as long as Heidi suggested - probably 8 minutes . The second time I increased the heat, and they browned beautifully - so make sure your pan is hot, and for me, I had the flame at medium-high. I did not have cilantro either time I prepared this, and my substitution of tarragon seemed OK. No Brussels sprouts, so I substituted cabbage - and the time I used red cabbage, it was really beautiful. I also followed the suggestion of adding cooked brown rice. The combination was great. The slight sweetness of caramelizing the tofu with some brown sugar contrasted nicely with the sharp flavor of the cabbage. I also found it was improved by addition of pepper.

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

9th April 2011 (edited: 13th April 2011)

Whole Wheat and Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie

The most painful part of making chocolate chip cookies (other than acknowledging all the calories) is forming individual cookies. I was immediately drawn to this recipe for 2 reasons: it cooks as a single large cookie (in a skillet), and it uses whole wheat flour.

I found the dough to be very stiff, but it seemed to bake up OK. The cookies had a nice whole wheat flavor, which I loved, but it might not appeal to everyone. They also had a good salt/sweet thing going on.

A dangerous aspect of these cookies - its too easy to keep slicing a tiny bit more, and then a tiny bit more...

If I remake these, I will definitely be adding walnuts. And I didn't have bar chocolate, so used chocolate chips.

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

This was pretty - a nice green color and the coconut gave it a very nice look. Having read Wester's review, I more than doubled the spices. But really you couldn't taste the cumin or mustard seed or the coconut - but it gave us an overall impression of just too many different flavor hints. I won't bother with this dish again.

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

8th July 2011 (edited: 21st July 2011)

Green Pea Soup

I had high hopes for this soup - ginger and cumin are two of my favorites, and I had two bags of fresh peas in my CSA box. But for me and my family, this was not that great. The recipe calls for a lot of garlic - 10 cloves. We all felt the flavor was too heavily garlic. I could taste the ginger, but with only 1/4 tsp cumin, it was hard to detect above the garlic.

If I make this again, I'd use 2 cloves of garlic, use a lot more cumin, and be sure to have the right blending instrument.

I did use fresh mint as a garnish and lemon juice, but for me, it didn't save this soup.

useful (2)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

Smooth tart-creamy soup with intriguing flavors!

This soup uses zucchini and potatoes, shallots, cooked with some fresh rosemary, and blended with buttermilk. I didn't serve this soup till the day after I made it, and it was fabulous. I vowed to eat more cold soups, and I did have some of this cold. But then I also tried it warm, with feta, and it just POPPED. Great flavor!

I am surprised at how much I like the buttermilk in this. I'm not a fan of American buttermilk, but it worked well in this soup.

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

Quick, relatively healthy, but a bit too salty.

This cake uses 1/4 C butter (which I browned, a suggestion from the author) and 2 eggs. I bought WW pastry flour for this recipe, and because I've been having baking powder issues, I used only 75% of what was called for (1 T). The cake rose beautifully, and it has a lovely texture. Its only a little sweet (only 1/2 C sugar), but it has too much salt.

Now its really something for my family to say "too salty". We buy the sea-salt Lindt chocolate, and call it crack. But this cake has 1/2 tsp salt in the batter, and then another tsp of kosher salt sprinkled on top (in addition to 3 T coarse sugar). The top is nice and crackly, but the overwhelming flavor is salt, not the lovely 1 C of home-grown raspberries!

This cake makes up quickly, and bakes quickly (took me 27 minutes). But I'd recommend only using 1/2 tsp salt on top.

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

1st August 2011

Miso Soup

Soba noodles and miso broth. Great for a quick summer dinner.

We garnished with swiss chard (rather than spinach), green onions, and cilantro.

This needed a bit of salt, but honestly, I think we should have used a bit more miso. I'll use this basic recipe again!

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

30th August 2011

Corn Soup

Excellent corn flavor, and enjoyed by all.

I was really mad at this recipe in the beginning because at 6:30, I realized that the timing was dead wrong - it cannot take only 15 minutes of cooking when the first step says 15 - 30 minutes. But Heidi's instructions to cut the potatoes really small (1/4 inch), some of the cooking steps really were fast. My total time for preparation was about 45 minutes, and I move fast.

No picture - sorry - it looked like dishwater. My expectations were really low. But wow - the flavor truly packed a fresh summer garden flavor.

My husband loved the yogurt-harrissa mix-in. Dinner started with a complaint - no meat again, but one sip and that crazy talk ended!

useful (2)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

14th November 2011

Red Lentil Soup with Lemon

This was a pretty simple lentil soup - made even easier by cooking the lentils in the pressure cooker. I substituted garden swiss chard for the spinach, and a red onion for the yellow - these substitutions seemed minor in the final product.

I found I needed to punch it up a bit with extra cumin, salt, and pepper. Also I added the lemon juice, tasted for flavor, about 15 minutes before serving. However, something happened in those 15 minutes to diminish the lemon flavor. Luckily I tasted right before serving, and added another ~ 1 1/2 T.

useful (1)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

25th February 2012 (edited: 27th February 2012)

Wintery Spring Rolls

It was so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so good!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved them there is nothing better to eat than a quick and easy healthy meal like these for lunch. They are technically appetizers but they can work as a whole meal if you make enough! I cooked the tofu so that it was very crisp on the out side (the way I like it). It took quite a while, but turned out crispy and brown on the outside and soft on the inside. My mother was glad that they didn't take very much time to make, and that I was willing to cook it! I really like crispy tofu, and this is a great way to use it. Make plenty.

We also added some avocado to some of the rolls -- that added a wonderful creamy texture and of course great flavor.

13 daughter

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

Nice simple approach to brussels sprouts. They did brown up nicely, but I prefer the oven-roasted ones, as I think that gets them crispier.

These are made especially good by the last-minute addition of a bit of grated Pecorino cheese.

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

An excellent chocolate pudding. Easy to make, healthy, and delicious.

I substituted Grand Marnier for the amaretto to get the chocolate-orange rather than almond flavor. And next time I will probably use ginger liqueur.

A highly adaptable recipe that is sure to please anyone - vegan or not!

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

26th December 2014

Winter Punch

We prepared this punch for our Christmas Eve dinner party. I really liked that it wasn't too sweet, and that one could dial down the alcohol by addition of sparkling water. It is a gin and prosecco based punch, with additional flavor from rosemary simple syrup and ginger juice. Getting several tablespoons of juice from a ginger root was the most difficult step of the recipe, and the overall flavor went well cheese-based appetizers.

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

26th December 2014

Peppermint Semifreddo

Festive and delicious, but very rich.

This dish comes from independently preparing three parts - whipped cream (soft peaks), a custard (egg yolks, sugar, and peppermint liquor), and beaten egg whites. I used my stand mixer for the whipped cream, which was a strategic mistake, as it left me with a regular bowl and either a hand whisk or my stick blender (whisk attachment) for the egg whites. Nevertheless, when the three parts are ready, they are folded together, chunks of peppermint sticks mixed in, and then put into individual serving dishes. I used those small plastic drink cups, which I think were too big (it was a rich dessert after a heavy prime rib dinner).

Too much peppermint - I used peppermint schnaps, and next time I would cut it by 1/3. The other thing is that it was difficult to judge the amount produced. I needed 11 desserts, and was using cups larger than the shot glasses suggested in the recipe, so I doubled it. That made a lot - probably twice what I needed. Nobody will be sad about that, but just saying...

useful (0)  


Website: 101 Cookbooks

www.101cookbooks.com
 

7th August 2015

Kale Rice Bowl

This is a bare-bones recipe that is infinitely adaptable to the vegetables on hand. We used kale, brown rice, poached egg, za'atar, capers, and salted yogurt. It was a bit bland, and I think it needed some sort of sauce. A bit of miso-ginger sauce would have elevated it.

useful (0)  


Website: About.com food

www.about.com/food
 

21st August 2011 (edited: 21st August 2011)

Cheddar Zucchini Biscuits

Light and cheese-onion as the dominant flavors. These were easy and lighten the zucchini backlog.

I discovered this recipe first through The Kitchn, and found both their suggested link (with lovely photographs), and an earlier on-line version that attributes the recipe to a magazine, link above.

Its a bit involved - salting and draining the zucchini - but I saved time by freezing and grating the butter prior to cutting in. I also cut the 6 T butter to about 5T, as I consider the cheddar as another fat contribution.

I also substituted a small fresh onion from my CSA box for the green onions.

The result - light and crunchy, a delightful cheddar/onion flavor, and lovely flecks of green. Try them!

useful (1)  


Website: About.com food

www.about.com/food
 

22nd November 2014

Speculaskruiden

This is a special dutch spice mixture which is similar to pumpkin pie spice. This recipe provides the components and their ratio. The only negative is that if you only need about 1 tsp, you are stuck trying to estimate 1/20th of a tsp. For me, that is no issue, I just wing it. However I asked my engineer husband to prepare the spice mixture, and the exacting engineering side of his brain wasn't happy with "wing it". Nevertheless, this provided an interesting flavor for my Dutch apple pie, and the Dutch friend who organized the dinner told me it smelled authentic. Many thanks to BethNH for pointing out this recipe.

useful (1)  


Website: About.com food

www.about.com/food
 

22nd November 2014

Dutch Apple Pie

Lovely flavor, but a very frustrating pastry dough. The dough is composed on eggs, flour, and butter - no water at all! It did come together in my (new) stand mixer, and I doubt I would have had the patience to make it by hand. The recipe's comments note the sticky nature of the dough, and the authors suggests not rolling it out, but instead to pat it into shape with wet hands. Instead I did roll it out, but between parchment sheets. To move it into the pan (a springform is called for), I had to refrigerate it (over night), and even still, had to pat the rips back together.

The pastry was sweeter than the filling, but both turned out quite well. I used speculaaskruiden spices, and a mix of granny smith and fuji apples. The dough did puff up while baking, and I was impressed at how beautiful it was when finished cooking. However, slicing and serving really wrecked the tablecloth - very messy.

useful (0)  


Absolutely Chocolate: Irresistible Excuses to Indulge

By Deborah Jones, Ron Manville, Fine Cooking Magazine, Editors of Fine Cooking
Taunton Press - 2009

27th October 2012

Rich Cocoa Brownies

Great chocolate flavor, definite butter flavor, and a very soft tender texture.

These are prepared by melting butter, adding cocoa, and when cool, mixing in sugar, salt, vanilla, eggs (3!), and flour.

Because I do not own a 9 X 9 pan, I had to choose between and 8 X 8 (my usual choice) and 8.5 X 11. The 8 X 8 is significantly smaller than the 9 X 9 (64 sq inches versus 81), while the 8.5 X 11 is 93.5 sq inches. I chose the larger pan, and while the brownies are somewhat thin, there are lots of them.

For me, these took 20 minutes, and they are NOT overcooked.

useful (0)  


Ad Hoc at Home

By Thomas Keller
Artisan - 2009

6th February 2011

Scallion Potato Cakes

These potato cakes were good - but suffered because we have become big fans of the sweet potato hash from the Zuni Cafe Cookbook.

I found these to be not so challenging to flip - I used my bench knife to assist the spatula. I liked the addition of scallions, and the potato starch was genius - they really did make cakes that stuck together. But I didn't like having to use as much oil as is needed to keep the potatoes sizzling.

I will try applying the potato starch technique to sweet potatoes - a hybrid Ad Hoc/Zuni sweet potato cake.

useful (2)  


Website: Afgan Kitchen Recipes

www.afghankitchenrecipes.com
 

13th August 2015

Bolani Katchalu

Flat breads filled with spinach and scallions. Heavy on the garlic (yum), this dish really worked. Don't forget the yogurt sauce; we also served with hummus.

My son had tasted this dish at a farmer's market in Palo Alto, and so recreated it at home. The bread part is almost exactly a tortilla, but prepared with olive oil. We didn't make the potato filling, only the spinach.

I recommend cutting way back on the oil for the final frying of the filled bread. A tasty and unusual dish.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

31st December 2010 (edited: 2nd January 2011)

Chocolate Pudding Cake II

This is a very reliable recipe, and one I've been enjoying since my childhood. Although this is not a pretty thing, it makes an awesome cake that sort-of floats in a thick chocolaty sauce.

How many rich-tasting deserts use only 2 T of oil for the entire 8 servings? No eggs, either. So I like this because its fairly low fat, but lots of flavor.

Note: I bake this for about 5 minutes less than they suggest. I think this results in a generous amount of the pudding. Cooking longer, or letting it sit for a long time, changes the ratio between sauce and cake, and not in a good way.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

21st March 2011

Breakfast Grits

Great creamy texture! This is an excellent breakfast dish for someone with new braces. I followed the advice in the All Recipes reviews for this recipe and used mostly milk (2C skim milk plus 1C water), and coarse grits. This cooked up in about 8 minutes, and tastes great with a bit of salt and pepper.

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

I'm forever in search of the perfect chocolate pudding cake. These things feel like my life - they look like a disaster, until at the end it all comes together. You make a thick batter, sprinkle sugar and cocoa on top, then pour on boiling water. The result is a cake floating in a small sea of hot chocolate pudding.

This recipe differed from Chocolate Pudding Cake II in that it took one extra T oil (3T), and it included 1/4 C chocolate chips.

I always make a big mistake when making this dish. The cocoa is to be divided between the cake and the topping, but in my giddy haste, I add it all the the cake, and then spend 10 minutes trying to pull out half of it. So always, the cake has too much cocoa. This time was no exception.

Still not perfection, but sometimes its all about the journey.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

17th July 2011 (edited: 17th July 2011)

Greek Chicken Burgers with Feta

Moist and flavorful! These burgers contain sundried tomatoes, fresh basil, fresh oregano, lemon juice, etc. The recipe called for ground chicken breast, but the best I could do was ground turkey. It worked just fine!

After mixing up the meat, etc, you form patties, and then press feta cheese into the center, folding the meat over, and reforming the patty. This worked better than I had hoped - but do be sure to crumble the feta.

I also worried that the patties were very moist - but my husband put them on the grill, and they came back looking great!

We ate these with tzatziki, also from All Recipes (link below). It really hit the spot on a hot summer day.

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

17th July 2011 (edited: 17th July 2011)

Tzatziki Sauce

Fantastic Tzatziki - cool but with a good zing from the garlic and lemon.

This recipe specifies that you need 10+ hours. But boy did we manage to cut corners. Drain yogurt overnight? Nah - just instead of laying it in the colander, tie up the corners of the cheese cloth and hang it - water comes out much faster. We let it go for maybe 20 minutes.

Drain grated cuke for 2 hours? Nah, only 15 minutes.

Refrigerate at least 2 hours after combining ingredients - you guess it - nah - try 10 minutes.

I had thought this would be runny and harsh, but the texture was perfect. We did add a fair amount of salt and pepper, but the flavor was great. I'll definitely return to this recipe.

We used the sauce with Greek Feta Burgers, link below.

useful (1)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

Crunchy green beans with a well flavored sauce! I found fermented black beans at my Asian grocery, and was excited to try to recreate this, one of my favorite of Chinese dishes. I liked that it called for both ginger and garlic. However, it called for only 3 minutes of cooking, without stipulating the size of the beans. I picked up green beans at the farmers market, and they were pretty big. We cooked these for almost 10 minutes, and they were still rather crunchy.

I think this recipe has potential but it doesn't quite come up to Chinese Restaurant level. Of course, its probably got much less oil, too!

useful (2)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

3rd August 2011 (edited: 3rd August 2011)

Summer Grilled Cabbage

Wedges of cabbage, nestled in aluminum foil, and grilled till done.

These were flavored with a pat of butter, a bit of garlic salt and Lawrey's seasoning salt. I liked the easy cooked cabbage, but thought the spice combination was a bit boring. I will likely repeat - but maybe with tarragon and a wedge of lemon??

I used a gas grill - at first on medium, moved to low after about 5 minutes. You can tell that the bottom is slightly burnt - so I'd advise just keeping at low the entire time. Cooking time about 30 minutes.

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

14th August 2011 (edited: 14th August 2011)

Pistachio Cake III

This cake was inspired when i was thinking about pistachios and cake at the same time. I stumbled on this recipe and decided to give it a try. It was soft and had an almost angle food like texture, I thought that it would be more pistachio flavored but it barely had any pistachio flavor at all. The only really good part was that it was easy to make and looked pretty cool. The flavor was not terrible but it was not what I expected. It also took very little oil (1/4 C).

12 daughter

useful (0)  


Website: All Recipes

allrecipes.com
 

27th December 2011

Chocolate Yule Log

Great flavor - mocha chocolate - moist and tender, but very rich.

My 16 yr old son prepared this for our family Christmas dinner, in part as an assignment from his French teacher. It has a very spongy cake made with 5 eggs, separated, and beaten egg whites. We had trouble knowing when the cake was done - it never bounced back to a touch, but seemed to be done (we cooked it 4 minutes more than the suggested 12-15 minutes).

A filling of whipped cream, sugar, and instant coffee was spectacular. Not too sweet, and it really kept the cake moist.

On top of the rolled cake, a mocha buttercream frosting was spread, and then textured with fork tines to mimic bark.

A great job done by my son, and a delicious cake (affectionately called "a piece of wood" by my kids). I almost missed getting a photograph - it went quickly.

useful (2)  


America--Farm to Table: Simple, Delicious Recipes Celebrating Local Farmers

By Mario Batali, Jim Webster
Grand Central Life & Style - 2014

This modest-looking recipe produced a beautiful side dish - long carrots with a lovely glaze and bits of herbs. The cumin etc. nicely complemented the carrots, didn't overwhelm them.

This cookbook was a cookbook club selection. A bit difficult in the winter, when the farms are not cranking, but should be great come summer.

useful (0)  


An unusual carrot cake!
Som problems with the recipe - go by the volume and not the estimated number of pounds of carrots. For me, the 1 lb of grated carrots gave me a full cup more carrot than the 2 1/2 cups called for in the recipe.

Moisture here comes from the vegetables and 1C mayonaise (no oil). The flavor was amped up by 1/4 grated fresh ginger and hazelnuts. I toasted the hazelnuts for a bit more flavor.

The frosting was also unusual. It was a cream cheese frosting that used molasses for flavoring. Wow - good by the finger and on the cake.

useful (0)  


The America's Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook: A New, Healthier Way to Cook Everything from America's Most Trusted Test Kitchen

By America's Test Kitchen, America's Test Kitchen, America's Test Kitchen, Editors of Cook's Illustrated Magazine, America's Test Kitchen
America's Test Kitchen - 2010

27th December 2011 (edited: 27th December 2011)

Everyday Denver Omelets

Lovely rich flavor from the ham and red bell potatoes, yet light from the mostly-egg-white-eggs. You are instructed to cook the eggs and then put just a bit of Parmesan cheese on it, then the pre-made ham etc. filling.

This recipe was a natural for us - we had leftover ham (reviewed here) and egg whites from preparing lemon curd. It was greatly enjoyed by all four eaters at my house.

useful (0)  


27th December 2011

Orange-Anise Biscotti

Great texture and amazing flavor. This cookbook gives a basic biscotti recipe (almond biscotti), and then suggests two variations (chocolate-hazelnut and orange-anise). This particular version takes toasted anise seed and orange zest, and those flavors come through in a lovely and not overly assertive way.

This cookbook also had very nice instructions - it includes pictures of patting out the log, cutting the cookies, and the second baking. My husband prepared these to bring to his buddies at work - the instructions were clear and he had a stress-free baking experience.

I'd recommend this recipe for anyone. With its lower calorie (70) and fat content (only 4T butter and 2 eggs for 30 cookies), these delicious cookies could be prepared for any occasion.

useful (4)  


12th January 2012 (edited: 12th January 2012)

Ultimate Oatmeal with Honey and Figs

I prepared this for a special birthday breakfast for myself. Its a bit involved -- steel cut oats are sautéed in butter and then toasted, then cooked in a water/milk mixture for 20 minutes, then figs, salt, honey and vanilla added - and another 10 minutes of cooking. But the effort was worth it. The steel cut oats were just slightly chewy -- just the way I like. And the figs and honey give it just the perfect sweetness and flavor.

And lucky me -- I've got enough for all week!

useful (5)  


20th January 2012

Lemon Bundt Cake

Great flavor, but problematic recipe.

13-daughter prepared this cake for my birthday. It was a good choice - lots of lemon zest and a healthier, lightened cake.

The major problem was that the cake fell. My daughter was so sad! I think one reason it fell because the recipe instructs you to rotate the pan half way through cooking - but the cake seemed to be highly vulnerable then. Another factor that probably contributed to the cake falling was that there were no high altitude instructions.

The cake also stuck to the pan, but that might reflect inadequate greasing on our part.

We applied a citrus glaze (page 461), which was a nice addition.

useful (1)  


20th January 2012 (edited: 20th January 2012)

Fudgy Brownies

Soft and fudgy, sweet but not too sweet, and it forms that nice top crust that I normally associate with box mixes! There are distinct butter and vanilla flavors, a rich chocolate flavor, and the perfect texture.

This recipe does dirty up three bowls (never a good thing), but I think its worth it. Weights are given as well as volume!

Three forms of chocolate - bittersweet chocolate (we used semi-sweet chocolate chips), cocoa, and chocolate sauce (we used this one). The recipe also includes one egg plus an egg white, and a bit of low-fat sour cream. I think they would be even better with toasted walnuts.

Very precise instructions for testing doneness allows you to pull it out of the over before it overcooks, but for us cooking time was 28 minutes, not 20-25. Also, we didn't believe these had to cool for two hours, they tasted great after 25 minutes cooling time.

useful (0)  


27th January 2012 (edited: 15th April 2012)

Everyday Macaroni and Cheese

Good cheese flavor, but not the perfect recipe.

This is a stove-top Mac & Cheese, not baked. It was prepared by 13-daughter. We couldn't find the reduced-fat cheddar cheese called for, and so used the normal full fat version. Our major problem was that there was too much sauce for the amount of noodles. We countered this by adding a generous layer of panko - but wished we'd cooked about 10% more noodles.

useful (0)  


4th February 2012

Chocolate Sheet Cake

For a nice chocolate cake, this came together quickly. It produced a light cake with good chocolate flavor and only 2g fat per serving. We served it with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar, and it made kids and husband smile.

useful (0)  


This was a full meal - lots of vegetables, whole wheat penne pasta, in a broth-based sauce. Nice flavor but it needed a bit more salt.

The recipe suggests that it serves six. However, it probably could serve at least 8 - it makes a lot!

This was prepared by 13 daughter and her father. I am lucky indeed.

useful (1)  


30th March 2012

Pear-Oat Crisp

An impending vacation but a big bag of pears gave me the impetus to try this recipe. The key here is that the fruit and crunchy topping are first baked separately. Also, the topping has a lot of chopped up almonds.

I baked the topping a bit longer than suggested - it was slower getting crunchy. I thought I'd overdone it. The topping is then poured over the fruit, and baked another 10 minutes. It sat about 20 minutes before I served it, and it was perfect. Crunchy top, which becomes soft where it contacts the pear. And not very sweet - just the right touch of sweetness.

This is definitely a recipe to remember, and put into active rotation.

useful (1)  


10th April 2012

Pasta with Meat Ragu

Delicious sauce with many vegetables (celery, carrot, onion, mushrooms) and a bit of ground turkey. Not the prettiest sauce, but it had a good mild flavor. Be sure to add a bit of pepper.

useful (0)  


A very nice fritatta - the flavor was enhanced by including lemon zest and goat cheese with the eggs. The combination of mushrooms, asparagus, and onion was lovely.

The recipe calls for 12 eggs and another 6 whites. Instead, I used five eggs, three large, and two came from our tiny silkie hen. Nevertheless, I used the called for amounts of other ingredients.

The cooking instructions went well. Mine stuck a bit to my cast iron frying pan, and so it didn't come out of the pan as nicely as the one in the pictures, but it tasted great.

useful (0)  


Crunchy, nice hazelnut flavor, slight chocolate flavor.

I prepared these for my son to munch on while he takes the USAMO (USA Math Olympiad exam). These were a sentimental choice, as I used hazelnuts from the my Aunt's farm, and she just recently passed away.

Tasted great with my morning cup of coffee. The recipe in this book is simple, relatively low fat, and is accompanied by great pictures and detailed instructions. But I don't think these are quite as good as ones with anise.

useful (0)  


A fine salad - but didn't thrill me.

A bed of lettuce, layered with potatoes - cooked, dressed in a mustard-lemon sauce, and salmon. The recipe also calls for green beans, but no beans here, so we skipped that.

I like the general concept of this recipe. The salmon-potato combination was pretty good. Lettuce from our garden yielded a spider on 13-daughter's plate, which added excitement to the meal.

This is a fine way to use leftover salmon, but I wouldn't cook salmon just for this recipe.

useful (0)  


10th June 2012

Going Green Smoothie

Who knew kale could make a delightful smoothie?

Kale, 1% milk, oj, banana, 2 tsp sugar, frozen peaches (recipe called for apple, but I sub'd the peaches because I had them), and ice cubes. I wasn't expecting much, but it tasted great.

useful (0)  


14th June 2012

Sesame Snap Peas

This recipe presents a simple way to cook sugar snap peas. First they are sautéed to give a bit of color, then they are steamed, and finally, when the water is gone, a bit more oil is added, along with soy sauce, sugar, rice vinegar, and garlic.

All that messing around with lovely local snap peas had me worried that they would be over-cooked. To my surprise, these were perfect. A bit tender, but with a good crunch, and an excellent sesame touch.

useful (1)